Civil Defense siren

Hawaii: Flowers at Home Depot. (Photo by Gigi)

plants Home Depot 005-A

Recently, I was at the computer when I heard a siren, which never wavered. It seemed to come from a Civil Defense device far away, and I could not pinpoint its exact location.

Is it a nuclear attack?  Is it a tsunami?  Should we evacuate to higher ground or to a shelter?

I clicked on the Internet newspaper, but there was absolutely no written warning whatsoever. I didn’t want to turn on the TV or radio, because it might wake up our tenant or neighbors, who were still asleep.

Yeah, the siren didn’t disturb anybody but me.

Well, I did nothing more. The siren eventually stopped.

Then, I later read that people in Hawaii Kai reported a malfunctioning Civil Defense siren. So, I suppose such was the case here.  Thank goodness, it was a false alarm and nothing serious.

I probably wouldn’t have evacuated, anyhow.  Fearless, complacent (and foolish) Gigi.

16 Responses to “Civil Defense siren”

  1. granny annie Says:

    Alarms do not seem to alarm us anymore. They are going to have to come up with a better system. I guess in a way they have. I get alerts on my cell phone with tornado or flood warnings. But I also get Amber Alerts that upset and depress me and it’s not like I can get out and get in my truck and go looking for this little lost child. I always hope someone will. Mostly they turn out to be parent abductions.

  2. Christine Says:

    Scary nonetheless.

  3. Olga Says:

    That is scary because we have to think about things like this these days.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    My question always is run where? You are not foolish, you are pragmatic.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    That would have scared me but it is always hard to determine where to run.

  6. DJan Says:

    Do you have the ability to receive weather alerts on your phone? That would be my plan if I lived in Hawaii! 😄

  7. L...w Says:

    I heard the same civil defense alarm recently and it wasn’t on the first of the month either. Husband and I quickly turned on the radio and searched the web for more info but nothing was found. Must have been a malfunction or equipment repair and testing.

  8. tom sightings Says:

    All I can say is, may all your alarms be false alarms!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Growing up at a time when we practiced for atom bomb attacks, It took me years of living in the city to not be alarmed by alarms. Now I pretty much ignore them, and that’s not good either.

  10. Linda Starr Says:

    there should be a number to call when that happens, could have been something pending

  11. denise Says:

    Glad it turned out okay. We are becoming so used to alarms going off we’re becoming desensitized to them. Even when car alarms go off we barely bat an eye. They are considered more of a nuisance by many.

  12. Maria Says:

    If it is on the first weekday of the month they always test all sirens at 1145 am.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Were you affected by the hurricane? I think there is nothing more terrifying that terrible weather and then the siren goes and you know it is even worse. Hope all you and yours were safe.

Leave a Reply

