Korean ceramics

Recently, David and I visited the Honolulu Museum of Art to view Korean ceramics, which were and are famous throughout Asia.

These are pieces from the Chosun Dynasty (1392-1910):

Korean art 002-A

Korean art 004-A

Korean art 005-A

Korean art 006-A

Korean art 007-A

Korean art 008-A

Korean art 010-A

There were other works of art in the Korean section of the museum, but I just wanted to focus on the ceramics today.

As you know, I am pure Korean and my daughters are half Korean. We are definitely proud of our Korean heritage.

David and I spent five days in Korea in 2002 to bury the remains of my maternal grandparents in the national cemetery. They were honored as Patriots of Korea for working tirelessly to liberate Korea from Japanese colonization.

It’s too bad that the Korean peninsula is divided, as I have relatives living in both North and South Korea. We always pray for unification, which hopefully will happen in my lifetime.

19 Responses to “Korean ceramics”

  1. Granny Annie Says:

    I had missed knowing that you were Korean. Yes unity of North and South would be amazing in all our lifetimes. That pottery is wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. DJan Says:

    Very beautiful ceramics. I also hope that peace comes to that part of the world in my lifetime, but I am not optimistic.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I love to look at pretty things — art, jewelry, nature. All of it.

      The situation in that region does look bleak, doesn’t it? I try not to be despondent, but that’s life.

  3. mageb Says:

    Flat out wonderful ceramics. Thanks for sharing these with all of us.

  4. Olga Says:

    The ceramics are amazing. I love to browse through art museums.

  5. Christine Says:

    beautiful ceramics, wonderful that you have been to Korea.

  6. L...w Says:

    I am disturbed sometimes with Japan’s past military aggression. I would like to read more about this period in Japan’s history to find out how and why. Sometimes, I get the sense watching Japanese drama that culturally the Japanese are so refined that their inner child is not happy and free. Just my guess being Japanese myself.

  7. Michèle Hastings Says:

    I followed the link you posted on Linda Starr’s blog. My boyfriend and I are potters in NC and he just returned from Mungyeong S. Korea. This was his third trip. He is invited to participate in the city’s tea bowl (chasabal) festival as an international exchange artist. We have fallen in love with Korean culture… particularly the food and pottery! As I type, he is in the kitchen making his version of the Korean beef soup, tteokguk (I hope that’s right!). Can’t wait to eat!
    How wonderful it would be if Korea could be unified. It seems impossible, but I think we all felt that about Germany at one time too.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The division in Korea is sad, however, I would rather live in the South.

    I love the Korean green ware. Years back, I attended a special exhibition of this pottery in New York City. Still have the catalogue from the ex. I also love the museum in Honolulu which has a lovely collection of Asian art and had a few nice Impressionist pieces when I visited. And I visited it many times. At one point the Honolulu museum hosted an exhibition of items from the Avery Brundage collection in San Francisco.

    Re your grandparents, how special that you could attend their interment. Congratulations!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    What beautiful forms and glazes!

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Interesting shapes and glazes.

  11. Linda Starr Says:

    oh wonderful ceramics, I love the turtle vase so beautiful and whimsical, I hope Korea can one day be united it must be hard having relatives that you aren’t able to visit.

  12. DeniseinVA Says:

    The ceramics are marvelous Gigi, I focused on the turtle vase too. Really gorgeous! I love ceramics and wish I had more in my home.

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    I was unfamiliar with Korean ceramics and your heritage before reading this post, Gigi. The art was beautiful and you are rightfully proud of its origins. I also enjoy visiting art museums and collections to admire the talent of artists.

  14. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I don’t think I knew you were Korean — I knew you had many lovely Korean things but wasn’t sure they were part of your tradition (some I knew — like the chest). I really love the art you shared. And I hope someday your family can all be together.

Leave a Reply

