Happy kids make happy adults

Rylan’s preschool was closed for Columbus Day, so he came here while his parents were at work.

He didn’t goof off. No sir.  Here is 4 year old Rylan with his iPad:

Rylan 004-A

He practiced setting the time:

Rylan 001-A

He counted and identified the different types of sea life:

Rylan 005-A

He watched a Power Rangers video:

Rylan 008-A

He drew several pictures of Power Rangers and even signed his name.  I love this piece because it is an original.  He didn’t copy someone else’s work.

Rylan asked, “Grandma, are you going to paste this picture on your blog?”

My answer:  “Yup.”

Here it is, Ry:

Rylan 014-A

He perused his Pokemon book:

Rylan 016-A

It was a challenge to locate various figures on the page:

Rylan 017

He had such a great time drawing pictures and playing with the iPad and his book.  He was free to do anything he wanted to do.

The only time he pouted was when I asked him to do his preschool homework (cutting, pasting and identifying pictures that start with the letter K).  He had no interest in it, even when I told him I would help him:

Rylan 018-A

I let it go. I felt he had done enough studying for the day.

When my grandson visits my home, he sure knows how to have fun.

HAPPY KIDS MAKE HAPPY ADULTS.

19 Responses to “Happy kids make happy adults”

  1. Olga Says:

    Homework for preschool? Really? Seems as though we are teaching kids to hate homework at an earlier and earlier age.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yup. I think Rylan needs to adjust his attitude, though. No one is asking him to be a rocket scientist over night. Do a little homework every night and maybe you can become one over time.

      It seems that if children can’t write their name by the time they enter kindergarten, they are at a distinct disadvantage.

  2. Christine Says:

    Looks and sounds like a fun day at Grandma’s!

  3. Linda Reeder Says:

    Do you ever worry about too much screen time? I have that issue with my grands.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Ever since he was a baby, Rylan has gravitated towards electronic gadgets — first it was Maria’s calculator, then it was the TV, now it is the iPad. Maria does limit the iPad to a few hours on Saturday, though — except when I babysit.

  4. L...w Says:

    Our grandkids love the tablet so much that toys are not that big a deal to them. Our grandson told us we can get rid of all the toys at our home except Monopoly, which he still likes to play with us. I don’t buy new toys anymore and just give them cash to use as spending money or hopefully to save. Husband has been giving them $1 a push up when they come over.

  5. L....w Says:

    I share your grief about wanting kids to have a better attitude about doing their homework. Gosh…it is like pulling teeth. We watched them all last week and every day they moaned. I think the computer has made every one including us adults physically lazy. It is too much effort to cut and paste when you can just swipe.

  6. Granny Annie Says:

    You got that right. Grandmas are not for seeing that homework is done. I don’t remember ever having to do homework at my grandparent’s homes. Rylan will remember this fun day with you. His artwork is amazing for his age!

  7. Joanne Says:

    I believe the ability to occupy themselves, without depending on an adult, is so important.

  8. DJan Says:

    He is indeed very talented. You are so fortunate to be able to have him around you so much of the time. Thanks for sharing him with me. 🙂

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I hope all this exposure to virtual reality doesn’t lead to a virtual life as adults. My granddaughters are never seen without a device of one kind or another. My youngest grandson, age 10 is saving his money for an iPad. For his birthday, grandma (me) sent him money toward that goal. I will see him in two weeks. Can hardly wait.

  10. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like he had an ideal day with you and that is what he should have at your house.

  11. DeniseinVA Says:

    Children can teach us a thing or two about these electronic gadgets.

  12. tom sightings Says:

    A great drawing … I have several drawings my kids made when they were his age that are still mounted on the wall in our hallway … and my kids are now pushing 30!

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    As grandparents, we also have concerns about the amount of time our grandchildren (3 and 8) spend using electronic devices. We try not to use our own when visiting, yet they always seem to be using their mom’s devices. And, even adults seem more connected with electronics than people. It’s good that your grandson has a balance, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

