Speak with poise and confidence

Korean art 014-A

This is a Korean chest from the Chosun Dynasty (1392-1910), displayed at the Honolulu Museum of Art. Note the gold, silver, mother of pearl, and tortoise shell.  Lovely!

We received our absentee ballots in the mail. David has already voted and mailed his ballot in.  He voted for the Democratic candidate for governor.  I, on the other hand, will vote for the Independent candidate for governor, as he seems to have more charisma as a leader of this state.

This reminds me of the time when someone nominated me to be Seventh Grade Secretary. I was shocked, but was unable to withdraw my name.  I wrote my campaign speech and practiced in front of Aunty Jennie, my godmother.  I enjoyed her applause.  A week later, all of the student candidates stood on the stage in the cafeteria.  When it was my turn, I spoke into the mike very nervously but managed to get through it.  Guess what, the votes were cast and I lost the election.

Well, at least, I did not read my speech, but actually memorized and delivered it.

So, you see, it takes all kinds to run for office. The main thing to remember is:  Don’t read your speech.  Memorize it, practice it, and then say it without stumbling.

It doesn’t mean you will win, but at least you won’t seem like a fool.

11 Responses to “Speak with poise and confidence”

  1. tom sightings Says:

    Hmmm, sounds like you’re getting ready to run for governor!

  2. Suzanne Says:

    That is a great story. I get so scared speaking to audiences I am not sure what I would have done.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good advice Gigi. Before I retired I belonged to Toastmaster’s International. I reached the second highest level before I gave it up. A fun group.
    As for voting, I will go to the polls when I return from CA.

  4. Christine Says:

    So you and David cancelled each other’s votes! M and I have done that before.

  5. Bella Rose Says:

    I love the Korean chest!

  6. L....w Says:

    Charisma is important in a leader but what has impressed me with David Ige is his ability to think clearly which leaves little room for ego and grandstanding. I think Hawaii needs a leader who can be very focused on getting the job done period. With the past few governors we have wasted precious time. I think Mr. Ige sees it (said the executive branch failed to execute what the legislature legislated.) So I have high hopes he will be able to zero in on how to bring about change.

  7. Granny Annie Says:

    I need to change my party registration to Independent. I am very anti-Democrat or Republican and am totally embarrassed by both parties.

  8. denise Says:

    That is great advice and I admire you for following through. The Korean chest is exquisite!

  9. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Great story. You remind me to next year get an absentee ballot! I missed one election because of that and don’t want to miss another. I love your chest!

Leave a Reply

