Improving our lifestyle

Korean art 012-A

Korea (Chosun Dynasty, 1392-1910): 10 panel screen depicting fish, birds, and lotus flowers.  Displayed at the Honolulu Museum of Art.

I am always happy to find new ways to improve my home. One of my projects is to replace the wallpaper in Lisa’s room and in the dining area. I intend to have the wallpaper professionally installed.  I’ll post photos when it’s done.

Another project is to paint the porch, which is unsightly with grime. Since he is so tall, David can easily reach the ceiling of the porch with his paint brush.

I moved five pots of crotons from the patio to the area under the eaves next to the windows. The sixth pot was discarded, because the plant was dead.  I hope that the move will help the remaining crotons to survive, because I think they were over exposed to prolonged, harsh sunlight in the patio.  If they don’t survive, I’ll just replace them with new plants.

Another thing that makes me happy is experimenting with new recipes in the kitchen. I love casseroles or any meal that can be stretched over two days.  This means I just have to cook every other day.  David especially likes my chicken-broccoli casserole, my Mexican casserole, my Portuguese bean soup, and my spinach quiche.  He likes my cooking so much, he is more than willing to wash the dishes after dinner.  (I wash the breakfast and lunch dishes.)

So, life is good for both of us. No complaints.

21 Responses to “Improving our lifestyle”

  1. denise Says:

    That is a lovely panel screen. Every time Gregg picks up a dish towel, I always thank his dear Mother. She got all her kids to help with the dishes.

  2. Christine Says:

    your recipes sound delicious!

  3. Grannymar Says:

    I miss my dishwasher. He whistled while he worked and put the dishes away – in the right places!

  4. Joanne Says:

    There’s nothing like a good, comfortable routine to keep life on a even keel.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’m always looking for a good soup recipe. When you going to post the bean soup recipe?

  6. L...w Says:

    With the constant drenching from Hurricane/Tropical Storm Ana, we’re now busy with patching leaks on our garage roof/deck. Should have done it before the storm’s approach, but glad to know about it now before rainy season.

  7. mageb Says:

    I have a few of those dishes too. Lady Bird Johnson”s Pedernales River Chili is one I’ll fix for my return home. Your projects sound good. How is the tenant doing?

  8. Olga Says:

    You really seem to keep up with the home maintenance and decoration. I think it is great that you take both pride and pleasure in your home. And how wonderful that you found a good tenant.

  9. Granny Annie Says:

    Chicken-broccoli casserole is my children’s favorites. Their grandmother made it for them and now I am supposed to, but I cannot make it like she did. For the first year of my marriage to Ron he did all the cooking AND washed the dishes. Then I made the mistake of insisting on helping and the next thing you know I was doing it all myself. LOL Be sure and check my blog today. There is a contest and you might have an edge.

  10. LC Says:

    It is wonderful when a few changes can bring such satisfaction. And I love your accounts of your culinary adventures.

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You sound very busy, Gigi! I love the cooking, too. And I have plenty to paint over the winter — so I think we’ll be on the same wave length.

    i meant to tell you in another comment how much I appreciated your recent visits. I’ve been out of town and slow to reply but I love it when you visit.

  12. Bella Rose Says:

    I love the panel screen. The dinners sound good too. I would love to get the recipes also.

Leave a Reply

