Prefer to be sober

Foster Village 020-A

Hawaii: Photo by David.

When I get together with my friends, it is always for lunch at a restaurant. But, when my younger sisters get together with their friends, it is always for Happy Hour at a restaurant or bar, usually after work.

I have never done what my sisters do, because I am not much of a drinker. The last time I had a drink was at my cousin’s wedding reception in July.  I drank half a glass of champagne to toast the occasion and then gave the other half to David to finish.

For some reason, when I drink, my brain stops functioning and I feel very sleepy. At that point, I stop conversing.

On the other hand, alcohol makes my sisters more talkative, and they really do enjoy chatting and laughing at each other’s stories while filling themselves with wine.

Hmmm. I don’t think I will ever be part of that culture, as I prefer to be sober.

Life is pretty darn wonderful. No need to escape.

19 Responses to “Prefer to be sober”

  1. denise Says:

    Alcohol makes me sleepy also and I stop talking completely. The last time I told a person this, they looked at me like I was very odd. Gregg and I will share a beer occasionally and I enjoy a glass of wine when with friends. If I am driving even one glass of wine affects me, so I don’t drink anything stronger than a glass of water on those occasions.

  2. Granny Annie Says:

    You don’t have to drink to go have fun with your sisters. Just hold a glass of wine or have water in a wine glass and no one would be the wiser.

  3. Olga Says:

    There is nothing wrong with being sober. My mother was the exact same way but she did think it was good to know about wines and how to pair them with foods even if she could not enjoy the results. And I grew up to enjoy a glass of good wine with a special meal.
    My mother was actually lucky in that regard because there were a lot of alcoholics in her family–one drink obliterating all sense of when to stop.

  4. DJan Says:

    I enjoy my glass of wine in the evening, but I don’t think of myself as altering reality, just adjusting my attitude. 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    I’m with you Gigi!

  6. Joanne Says:

    I used to enjoy a glass of wine or a Scotch, Then one day it just induced sleep, so no more. That would be a waste of good wine and good time.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I used to drink the odd glass of wine. Became an aficionado of white wines, for a while. David is in recovery from alcoholism, so I seldom have a drink around him. Also, I take meds that would be a problem if mixed with alcohol. Such is life.

  8. marmeladegypsy Says:

    We have our wine group and enjoy it but no one overdoes and there are some in our group who really don’t drink much if at all because of migraines or meds. No one cares if you drink or don’t — they care only if you are part of the group!

  9. Juicy J Says:

    first the man takes a drink, then the drink takes a drink, then the drink takes the man.

  10. dkzody Says:

    I can only have one drink. I get too sleepy. Usually Terry and I share a drink because he is driving and doesn’t want to drink a whole one by himself. And 2/3s of a drink is just about right for me.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Completely my opinion 🙂

  12. mary jane s. Says:

    I come from a dad who took to drink after my mother died young, my hubs is from drinkers and drug people, he never engages in that activity ever, too many bad memories of his many siblings and his mom starving since his dad took to the alcohol and the drugs, he abandoned them and he told him to never come back when he was barely a teenager..Yet when his dad was dying of liver failure we were kind and gentle to him, never have any problem with our only child ever drinking ever in her life, why waste money on alcohol and any drugs when it is hard enough to buy food that is nutritious to live a great life is our philosophy..besides I have seen many people I was born into which I never have anything to do with drunka & disorderly that was enough for me to never touch the demon rum!

  13. mary jane s. Says:

    I meant to say one can have a wonderful life never ever drinking, you are aware of everything and can enjoy your life without alcohol in it..I have type 2 diabetes and cannot ever drink any alcohol why risk my health for something that can harm my pancreas and entire body..We have fun being sober and I think many can do the same, unfortunately we have recreational marijuana in this state now and I see a big freaking problem with that indeed, meth is a big problem I live by a high school and many of the kids smoke pot it is not a cheap drug to buy where are they getting that money from stealing from homes in our areas..It is shameful many think it okay to toke the pot as the term is used, ask the homeowners working hard to pay for the homes they are living in and the property taxes how they feel having their homes broken into for stuff to pawn and sell for recreational marijuana you won’t find people agreeing with recreational marijuana at all, also one can die from alcohol poisoning, the late actress Elizabeth Pena died of alcoholism it is listed on her death certificate, one can really get one into a lot of illness consuming alcohol regularly, yet it is okay and legal..One just has to have some common cents in one’s life which doesn’t seem to be common anymore..Have a sane and happy Halloween and a wonderful holiday season coming up!

  14. Bella Rose Says:

    I haven’t had a drink for 31 years, and I’ve had a lot of fun.

  15. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Back to say I love that Jade plant.

Leave a Reply

