Brilliant idea

No flash 001-A

My Jade plant is thriving in my patio. It seems to like the bright sunlight and the occasional watering.

Picture this scene: David reached for his toothbrush on the glass shelf in the bathroom, and his razor and box of nose strips fell into the toilet.  Ugh!  Think of the germs.

So, after pondering a bit, I decided to install a two or three shelf cupboard on the wall. It will store our toothbrushes and other paraphernalia and keep them out of sight when we have guests.  (We already have a small medicine cabinet.)

Further, we will use the lid to cover the toilet after every use. If something falls from the cupboard, it won’t fall into the toilet.

Do you cover your toilet after every use, too?

God gave us a brain. Use it.

18 Responses to “Brilliant idea”

  1. L....w Says:

    We cover the toilet seat before flushing. Prevents germs from going aerosol upon flushing, especially our toilet that has a forceful spray.

  2. Snoskred Says:

    We also cover the seat before flushing. Plus, toilet seat closed is good Feng Shui. 🙂

  3. DJan Says:

    No, we don’t cover the toilet, but all our toothbrushes and other paraphernalia is in drawers or in the cabinet. I never thought about the germs when flushing!

  4. Joanne Says:

    I’ve seen video of how far toilet water droplets spray on an open seat flush. It’s a great persuader.

  5. Christine Says:

    Apparently, it’s the ‘proper’ thing to cover your toilet after use. And to keep toiletries far away from the toilet…many germs there!

    I don’t cover the toilet.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I always put the lid and the seat down on the toilet and have asked David to do the same. His solution…he has his own toilet and he leaves the lid and the seat up most of the time…oooo men!

  7. Granny Annie Says:

    Your jade plant is lovely. I am afraid that living in the country and contending with chickens, cats, spiders, snakes etc., there is little time to worry about the toilet germs. LOL

  8. Lorraine Says:

    We always cover the toilet. We have always had big dogs who would drink out of it if they could. I also read about germs spraying up and lastly I think it looks better.

  9. Olga Says:

    I try to always close it, but sometimes I just forget. I don’t drop things into it though. It’s set away from the sink and storage.

  10. Kay G. Says:

    We no longer have our cat but for 14 years we had to make sure we kept the lid closed. We still are in the habit of closing the lid, even though we no longer have our Minnie!

  11. dkzody Says:

    Always close the lid before flushing. Have you ever been in a public restroom, flushed and the water sprays all over? yuck. I now stand as far back as I can when I flush in such a place. We also close the lid at all times in both bathrooms. Occasionally a guest leaves the lid up and I go by the bathroom and run in and put down the lid. It is bad feng shui to have the lid up.

  12. denise Says:

    Well, I see the majority keeps the toilet seat down. I can be a bit germ phobic, so yes I keep the toilet seat down also.

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    We also keep the toilet seat down and thankfully the cabinet is over the sing and not the toilet so nothing would fall in. Your new cabinet looks lovely, Gigi. And it is good to keep things out of sight and in one place.

Leave a Reply

