Life is about choices

No flash 004-A

Giant Monstera in my backyard.

Life is all about choices. The choices you make today can bite you in the butt tomorrow.

Looking back on my life, I have to admit I made excellent choices. Do you see me complaining?

When I got pregnant with Maria, my boyfriend refused to marry me. Many people told me to have an abortion and move on with my life.  Then, when I gave birth, they said to put Maria up for adoption so that I could continue my career in music.  I am glad I didn’t listen to these people, because without Maria, I would not have my darling grandchildren today.

When I chose to marry David, people told me to look for someone better. Well, my husband has turned out to be a good provider, a loyal spouse, and an excellent father and grandfather.  We all adore David.

When we decided to sell our two condos and buy this house, relatives said we should have bought Aunty Helen’s house instead. I prefer my house, because it is air conditioned and it is bright and cheery.  How many homes in Hawaii have air conditioning?  Very, very few.  When there is vog or high humidity, I simply shut the windows and turn on the air.  You don’t see us suffering because of the weather.

So, you see, I am glad that the choices I made in the past have led to the lovely life I have now. I have absolutely no regrets.

17 Responses to “Life is about choices”

  1. Olga Says:

    life is all about choices. You were wise to choose always to follow your own heart. That path has brought you contentment of a good life.

  2. Kay G. Says:

    I had some health problems recently. One night, I wasn’t quite sure I would make it through the night! Oddly enough, instead of feeling regrets about my life, I just felt gratitude, pure and simple.
    Thank you, God, for everything…that was my thought! Everything happens for a reason. xx

  3. Christine Says:

    Gigi you are a smart lady and have made good choices, and lived and are living a full life! I certainly value your suggestions and advice and tips.

  4. Jan Says:

    Such an upbeat, positive post, Gigi! Yes, you have made some great choices in your life. Thanks for giving me a lift. 🙂

  5. Granny Annie Says:

    I will never regret my first marriage because it yielded my wonderful two children. I was blessed to find Ron after I spend 26 years as a single parent. How can we ever regret when our choices have led us to such fine results.

  6. mageb Says:

    And too, you have that simply wonderful plant in your back yard. Maybe 50 years old. 🙂

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Snap! We both wrote about making choices, today! Glad yours worked out!

  8. dkzody Says:

    Sounds like you’ve had a great life Gigi. Keep up your good sensible decisions and your life should continue to be good for many more decades.

  9. tom sightings Says:

    Well, only you can make the right choices for yourself.. no one can do it for you. But as an aside I should admit, when I chose to marry my first wife, I know some people told HER to look for someone better! But we did alright … 29 years and two wonderful kids. I don’t call that marriage a failure; I call it a success. (And we’re still on speaking terms!)

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    You definitely have made the right choices. I listen to people’s advice but I follow my instincts and they have never steered me wrong. I love that big old plant you have in your yard.

  11. L....w Says:

    Seems like you are always so clear about what you want. And you are not afraid to follow your thoughts and feelings. That being said…I’m quite the opposite unfortunately. I like reading your blog for this very reason…maybe I can learn to be behind myself more.

  12. Suzanne Says:

    Such great choices. It is also wise to listen to oneself. Things I tend to regret the most are the decision I let others push me into.

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Wonderful philosophy. We will not regret the past nor forget it.

  14. palolo Says:

    Lucky you. Everyone only wants to love and be loved. You have your two grand children, and a loving husband.

  15. Bella Rose Says:

    You followed your heart – the best choice of all the excellent choices you have made.

Leave a Reply

