Olga’s Apple Bake

My blog friend Olga (http://confessionsofagrandma.blogspot.com/) recently posted a recipe for Apple Bake.  I have already made it three times with great success.  David loves the aroma wafting from the kitchen.  It’s basically green apples with a shortbread cookie crust.

Olga's apple bake 001-A

Here’s the recipe:

Melt 1 stick of butter in the microwave. Cool.

Peel and chop 3 green (Granny Smith) apples.

Toss the apples in a mixture of 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon.

Spray a 9 inch pie pan with oil.

Place the apples in the pan.

Mix the melted butter with 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of sugar, and 1 egg.

Smear the butter mixture on top of the apples.

Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 50 minutes.

Yummy!

13 Responses to “Olga’s Apple Bake”

  1. Jan Says:

    Sounds delicious! 🙂

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    It looks wonderful.

  3. Christine Says:

    I can do this Gigi and I will…thanks! Just adding green apples to my grocery list, perfect for our cool temps right now.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Looks tasty Gigi. You are a good cook.

  5. Grannymar Says:

    It looks tasty, but with all that butter, I will have to give it a miss.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    It looks delicious, I will have to make this. Thanks for sharing it Gigi.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    That looks so good. My grandmother used to make something like this. So good.

  8. palolo Says:

    No crust on the bottom and sides?

  9. dkzody Says:

    Sounds pretty tasty. I made apple dumplings yesterday using Braenford apples and puff pastry. Unfortunately, the apples were dry and didn’t bake up as they usually do. I have some pippins that I might try in your recipe. Anything with a cube of butter in it has to be good.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    That does sound good, and easy!

  11. Olga Says:

    Thanks for sharing my recipe. I am glad you and David enjoy this dessert.

  12. Bella Rose Says:

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

