Chat with Julia

Indian puppets 002-A

My 7 year old granddaughter was here the other day and we had a nice chat.  She pointed to these puppets that I had purchased in Jaipur, India in 2012.  She wanted to know which was the boy and which was the girl.  I told her that the one with the mustache and beard was the man.

Then, we discussed what would be the ideal present.

Me:  “What do you want for Christmas?”

Julia:  “First of all, don’t give me money, because Mom will put it in the bank.”

Me:  “Well, what should I give you?”

Julia:  “A gift card, because Mom can’t put that in the bank.”

Me:  “Oh.  So if I give you a Target gift card, what will you buy with it?”

Julia:  “Maybe, food.”

Me:  “Why not go to the jewelry section and buy some bracelets?”

Julia:  “Grandma, I have lots of jewelry already.”

We also discussed what she wanted to buy her dad.   Trouble is she has only $14.00 in her piggy bank and she doesn’t know if she has enough money to buy that something special for her father.

Ah, well, here we are talking about Christmas when it isn’t even Thanksgiving yet…

12 Responses to “Chat with Julia”

  1. Christine Says:

    I enjoyed your conversation, lol. She is already 7?

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    A reflective and sensible young lady.

  3. Jan Says:

    She is such a sweetheart, Gigi. And very sensible, too. 🙂

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Christmas will be here before we know it though. I like her plan with the gift card. She is thinking.

  5. Olga Says:

    Gift cards! That is so funny from a 7 year old. It does make shopping easier.
    I can remember as kid sitting with the Sears catalog and making a list, my head swimming with possibilities and desire. All my grandkids ever say they want is i-something.

  6. tom sightings Says:

    She can make him something!

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Not too early to think about Christmas. Only a month away.

  8. Granny Annie Says:

    If she wants to spend her Christmas money on food you better check about whether they are feeding her at home or not. LOL
    Sorry about my absence. I am trying to catch up now.

  9. DeniseinVA Says:

    She’s a smart little girl. I love the conversations you have with your grandchildren.

  10. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Julia is certainly an intelligent and observant young child, Gigi. Your shared conversations with her and her brother are delightful.

  11. Bella Rose Says:

    This makes me think my nephews are saying the same thing when I send cash.

Leave a Reply

