Priceless memories

You might remember the spathiphyllum plant I purchased in August.  It sat on my coffee table, looking very pretty.  However, when the white flowers opened, I noticed pollen littering my table.  Well, you all know what a neat freak I am.  The spathiphyllum ended up in the trash bin.

I have decided to stick with anthuriums.  They do well indoors and never litter the table with pollen.  Here’s one I purchased at Lowe’s recently:

anthurium 002-A

Lovely, isn’t it?  The red and green anthuriums go well with the red and green silk rug that we bought in Jaipur, India in 2012:

silk rug 001-A

Speaking of silk rugs, imagine how many silk worms created the silk in this 6 foot x 9 foot rug.  Thousands of worms!  We were told it took four years for a family in Kashmir to hand weave the rug.  It cost us $3,500, but I bet the family was paid a mere fraction of that amount.

Ah, well, every time we see this intricately designed rug, David and I remember the fun we had, touring northern India.  Beautiful memories are priceless, after all.

13 Responses to “Priceless memories”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Too bad about the short-lived plant, Gigi, but the replacement favorite is beautiful but the rug is certainly a treasure. I had no idea about how long or how many silkworms it would take to produce such a beautiful adornment.

  2. Granny Annie Says:

    I am shocked that you only paid $3500 for that gorgeous rug. What a treasure! I am not a plant person. Love what others have but it doesn’t take me anytime at all to kill one.

  3. Christine Says:

    Pretty plant, your trip seems like it was just yesterday, I remember.

  4. Olga Says:

    Beautiful plant and stunning rug. Memories of your travels together are indeed priceless.

  5. Jan Says:

    I also remember when you took that trip and bought the rug. It’s so beautiful, I’m glad to see it up close again. 🙂

  6. tom sightings Says:

    Nice plant, even nicer rug. I’m jealous … I inherited an oriental that my parents bought for our front hallway, circa 1955. B and I had no place for it in our house, so my sister took it. She now has it in her living room — I go visit her whenever I can!

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    Your plant and rug are beautiful. Amazing that it took four years to make but it is so intricate, I can well believe it.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I can hardly believe its been two years since you toured India. The rug is beautiful and represents so much life, of people spent weaving it, of silk worms making their cocoons. Much to contemplate.

  9. mageb Says:

    Love the rug.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    Having just seen a silk carpet weaving demonstration, I am aware of how much time it takes to do this intricate work, and therefore why they are expensive. I do wonder how much the weavers make from them.

  11. Cathy Says:

    Even tho’ I love the plants in my garden I’m not an indoor plant person. They just don’t survive in my household.
    Your rug and the plant certainly complement each other

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    that is a beautiful rug, sad what the artisans are paid I am sure

  13. Bella Rose Says:

    That is a beautiful rug!

Leave a Reply

