Matt S.

My friend Virginia lost her husband Matt in October.  They had been together since the 1960s.  Services were held in Haleiwa yesterday, followed by lunch at a restaurant near Waimea Falls.  The last time we saw Matt was in August 2013 in Washington, DC.  I am glad I got to chat with him back then.

India Miami Washington 940-A

Here we are at the Capital Hilton, Washington, DC in August 2013:  (Left) David, Virginia, me, and Matt.

I sometimes wonder when David and I will die.  As our friends and relatives pass away, I am reminded of my own mortality.  I guess that’s normal.

We should not focus on how long we live, but on how well we live.

Matt lived very well.  He graduated with a Ph.D. from Stanford University and was a Peace Corps volunteer, college professor, and Foreign Service consultant.  He also was a loving husband, father, and grandfather.

He will be greatly missed by his many friends and relatives.  Aloha, Matt.

10 Responses to “Matt S.”

  1. Jan Says:

    Thank you for introducing me to Matt. I’m sure he will be missed.

  2. Olga Says:

    You are right about the quality of life being more important than the quantity. Your friend sounds as though he had a full and productive life. I am sure he will be well remembered for that.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    A good life, as they say. Condolences to your friend Virginia.

  4. Christine Says:

    sorry for the loss of your friend, sad.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    So sorry you lost your friend and my deepest and heartfelt condolences to Virginia for the loss of her husband.

  6. dkzody Says:

    Condolences on the loss of your friend. It sounds like he lived a very good life and contributed a great deal to the betterment of society. We all should leave such a legacy.

  7. Bella Rose Says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Gigi.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    He sounds like he was a very accomplished man.

  9. Granny Annie Says:

    My cousin recently reminded me that our deep concern for the death of friends and family is basically a reflection of our fear of our own deaths. I have been pondering that since he said it.

  10. Suzanne Says:

    Sorry to hear the news.

Leave a Reply

