Take away our car keys?

cars 001-A

Today is Sunday and we have a couple of things we want to do.  First, we plan to visit my 98 year old mother, who resides in a nursing home in Nuuanu.  Second, we plan to attend my friend Suzanne McCrary’s art show at the Honolulu Country Club.  Our day will be full.

David will drive us to both places in his 2010 Toyota Camry.  It’s a compact car, which he likes a lot.  If David were to die, I would sell his car and keep mine.  My 2002 Hyundai Accent has only 27,000+ miles on it and it works just fine.  It’s a sub-compact, ideal for a short woman like me.  I drive it to the doctor, dentist, store, and hair dresser.  Lisa uses it when she vacations here.  And when one car is in the shop for repair, we use the other car.  So, yes, it helps to have two cars in the garage (for now).

David gets his gas at Costco every week, because it is 34 cents per gallon cheaper there than at Chevron.  I get my gas at Chevron every 6-8 weeks due to the fact that it is convenient and I drive less than David.

As long as we don’t have dementia, we will continue to drive.  Once we forget our way home, please take away our car keys.

7 Responses to “Take away our car keys?”

  1. Olga Says:

    My experience with aging relatives has been that giving up the car keys is one of the greatest indignities of old age…especially when it was physical problems but a still fairly sharp mind that was the deciding factor.
    I sold Mike’s full size Chevy and bought a Prius. Recently, I sold our CUV, Ford Taurus X. I loved that car, but it does not get very good gas mileage. I bought a Ford Focus to take to Florida. I will leave it there. Extravagant for one person to have two cars, but I did seriously downsize.

  2. Jan Says:

    Hubby and I both have our own cars. I don’t drive much, but it’s sure nice when I want to go somewhere and the buses don’t run there, or it’s raining and I’m not in the mood to be wet. I too hope it will be a long time before they take away our car keys! 🙂

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Interesting topic. The premium on our car insurance (purchased through AARP) increased this year because liability has been expanded to cover any persons outside our car who might be injured (like pedestrians on sidewalks). Apparently, some older folks should not be driving.

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    We are in the same situation. We have two cars but mine we rarely drive. It has less mileage and less wear and tear, and when the other car has to go in for maintenance it comes in useful. Also our son uses it when he has a problem. When the other wears out entirely. We will probably not replace it. Sounds like a very enjoyable day you two are having.

  5. Christine Says:

    and also David could outlive you Gigi!

  6. Cathy Says:

    For someone who did not have a driving licence until she was in her late 30s it funny to hear say how angry I would be to lose that said licence for any reason whatsoever 🙂
    When the Golfer retired he broached the subject of us being a one car family – both our cars were and still are used daily and to suggest I turn my keys in did not go down well at all lol

  7. Granny Annie Says:

    I am two years away from 70 and I hate people saying it is about time for me to stop driving. However my kids have been telling me to stop driving since I was in my 40’s. LOL I am one person and own three vehicles, plus several tractors and a golf cart. Watch out, here I come.

Leave a Reply

