They’ll turn out just fine

Grandkids 005-A

My grandchildren, Julia and Rylan, playing behind my house a few months ago.

Every time I think of my grandkids, I find myself chuckling.  At age 7 and 4, Julia and Rylan are so cute.  They represent a microcosm of society just by interacting with each other.

For instance, Rylan tends to be a finicky eater.  He will eat his lunch half way and then walk away from it.  His older sister, Julia, will finish her lunch and then reach over and eat Rylan’s half-eaten lunch.  She is truly a very good eater with a hearty appetite.  Rylan has already learned that if he values his food, he had better eat it quickly before Julia steals it.

The last time Rylan was here in my home, he was supposed to do his preschool homework.  Well, he refused to do it, and when his mother, Maria, came by to pick him up, he said, “Mom, I didn’t do my homework, because I couldn’t focus.”

“Why couldn’t you focus?”

“Because of the air conditioning.”

“The air conditioner was turned on at 10:30.  What were you doing before then?”

Poor Rylan.  What could he say?

I think my grandson is perfectly capable of focusing on a task if it interests him.  He can spend hours playing with the iPad, because it’s fascinating.  But, something like preschool homework?  Nope.  Zero interest.  Zero focus.

Anyway, these grandkids of mine always brighten my day.  They have their whole lives ahead of them.  I bet they’ll turn out just fine.

11 Responses to “They’ll turn out just fine”

  1. Cathy Says:

    99% of them do Gigi 🙂

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    I couldn’t focus it, I love it. Ha.

  3. Jan Says:

    They of course will turn out fine, Gigi. They are so smart! 🙂

  4. Olga Says:

    Pre-school homework???

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Where do kids learn these excuses? I can’t imagine telling my parents ‘I can’t focus’ so I could get out of something. On the other hand, my parents were not involved in my school work. My poor sister got the brunt of parental interest because she had issues with math. Night after night dad helped her with her math. All they cared about were my grades, so I learned how to do my work without parents.

    Rylan doesn’t seem to get away with much between his sister and his mother. I’m sure he will turn out fine.

  6. Christine Says:

    you are lucky to have such wonderful grandkids! blessed.

  7. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Actually, I think each of them is very focused. The homework bit is a hoot; what did he do instead? I cannot see him sitting and looking at it.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Ryan’s reason for not doing his homework made me chuckle. What cute grandchildren you have.

Leave a Reply

