Vaccines and sleep

Waimea Falls 003-A

Waimea Valley, Oahu.

I have been feeling under the weather lately.  I guess it’s the flu (vomiting, diarrhea, fever, muscle ache).  This is the first time in years that I have had the flu, so I have been lucky.  I caught it from David, who was sick a week ago.  Neither of us gets the annual flu vaccination, because we don’t believe in it.  If we can get away with symptoms that disappear in a day or two, we prefer to eschew the flu shot.

However, I might request the pneumonia vaccine when I see my internist next month.  Pneumonia is something I don’t want to risk having, as it could be fatal.

Last year, we received the shingles vaccine.  It’s 50% effective, but symptoms are milder with the vaccine than without it.  We know people who have contracted shingles, and they say it’s very painful.

Prior to our trip to India in 2012, we both received the Hepatitis A-B vaccine.

A side-effect of having the flu is getting lots of sleep.  As I tend to sleep only 4-6 hours a night, my body and brain crave sleep.  When I get sick, I sleep more.  Studies have shown that 7-9 hours is optimal.

I am feeling better, now.  I wish you all the best of health.

17 Responses to “Vaccines and sleep”

  1. Olga Says:

    Sorry to hear you have been ill. Flu is no fun. Hope you are both on top of that weather soon.

  2. Jan Says:

    Glad to hear the worst of it is already in the past. I always get a flu shot, as I remember the last time I had it I was really sick! 🙂

  3. Linda Reeder Says:

    We always get flu shots and as you are getting older, I urge you to do the same in the future. Pneumonia shots are also important.

  4. dkzody Says:

    Condolences on the ill health. That is never a good thing and especially during the holiday season when so much is happening. Glad to read you could exchange your concert tickets so hopefully you and David will be all well for the party and the concert by month’s end.

    Working with children has taught me to always get my flu shot and to also take my vitamins. Good health is vital right now.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I read this year’s vaccine is less effective as the strain they targeted mutated. I don’t get the shot, either, I get allergic to more things the older I get.

  6. Christine Says:

    Glad you are feeling better. I think I get about 6 hours of sleep.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    If you get the pneumonia vaccine and the shingles vaccine, what’s your objection to the flu vaccine? I’d chime in with those who advise you to get it. (P. S. I should talk … I’ve had the flu and pneumonia; but have put off the shingles vaccine — but it’s on my schedule for next year).

  8. Suzanne Says:

    Free flu shots were offered at my company one year so I took it. I got the worst flu one months later. I fully understand why people like it but I don’t get it myself these days.

  9. Suzanne Says:

    Glad you are feeling better.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We get/got all three shots. Flu makes most people verrrry sick. Don’t ever want it again. Haven’t had it in 20 years.

    Had Shingles, got the shot anyway, per my Docs recommendation.

    Had pneumonia every year until I retired. Got the shot and have not had it since. Shot only covers one kind of pneumonia.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    I am back. My blog is up and running once more. It was a tough one to sort, but I had a team of Toyboys working on it for me.

    I am called every year for the flu jab and had the pneumonia one lasts for ten years. We are not offered the shingles jab yet, but I have had shingles twice. They say it never leaves the body. I was a young child first time round and it was shingles. It can be very painful if not treated immediately.

  12. mageb Says:

    So sorry about the flue dear Gigi. Yes, we both got the pneumonia shot, and I feel much better about things.

  13. palolo Says:

    Start tonight getting 6 to 8 hours of sleep each night. I promise you will feel better sleeping at 10:00 and waking up at 5 or 6 am.

Leave a Reply

