“Hang on to your teeth!”

Waimea Falls 005-A

Waimea Valley, Oahu.

An elderly friend of mine was married to an oral surgeon.  Though he made his living by extracting people’s teeth, he always told us to “hang on to your teeth!”  Dentures make a poor substitute for real teeth and pose all kinds of problems, such as food particles getting caught under one’s dentures.  And dental implants are very expensive, as well.  So, yeah, hang on to the teeth you have.

I keep telling David to hang on to his knees.  Despite his arthritis, he is still able to walk without a cane or a walker.  Why does he want replacement surgery on his knees and hips?  Why push his luck?  One of those four surgeries is bound to land him in a wheel chair.  So, hang on to your knees!

On a happier note, Lisa will be arriving tomorrow for her winter break in Hawaii.  We are looking forward to having a pleasant Christmas lunch at the Willows.  We love the ambiance at the Willows.  It’s open-air with a beautiful view of the pond and plants.  The food is wonderful, too, with a huge international buffet.

It will be nice to celebrate the holidays with my family.

15 Responses to ““Hang on to your teeth!””

  1. Olga Says:

    Good advise!

  2. Jan Says:

    I know you will have a wonderful Christmas with family, Gigi. I look forward to the pictures. I too am worried about my friend who is having both knees replaced on Monday! He’s 75 and not in the greatest health.

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    But if the arthritic old knee won’t work any more, and they don’t, a replacement means the knee no longer rules your life.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    Knee replacement is quite common now, and if you do the follow up physical therapy faithfully, it is usually quite successful. The best reason to do it is for pain relief. When you hurt so bad that that pain rules and limits your life, then it’s time.

  5. Grannymar Says:

    I cannot speak highly enough about my hip replacement. I have been pain free since the operation in September 2009. I also have full movement, but then I never smoked or carried excess weight.

  6. Christine Says:

    Merry Christmas Gigi, it’s coming fast! I heard we might be having a winter storm Xmas day, have to go check on that.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Teeth yes, until Medicare covers dental implants. The teeth are the last to go, however, genes affect how long they last.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    And Happy Holidays to you too!

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    I had one dental implant. I had to sign a form that said, among other things, the procedure might kill me. But it actually went quite well. And then I got the bill, and finally figured out what the legal form was for. The bill almost killed me!

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    I need to get to a dentist after reading this.

  11. dkzody Says:

    Yes, keep the original equipment as long as possible. However, those replacement parts can be very good now.

    From what I understand, the joints have always worn out in old people, but in decades past, there was no way to get new ones so the person would be either bed-ridden or confined to a wheelchair. We are fortunate now to be able to keep functioning way into our old age.

  12. Musings Says:

    I certainly will try to hold on to my teeth. I need so much work on them though.

  13. Linda Starr Says:

    have a wonderful holiday, yes one should definitely keep the teeth, knees, and everything else, you never know about a surgery as they are all risky

Leave a Reply

