Thoughts on Christmas Eve

Yard 006-A

The lawn next to my house.

Today is Christmas Eve.  Lisa is home for the holidays.  And our tenant’s 13 year old son is visiting from Texas.  It’s nice to have a family, isn’t it?

When I lived in New York City, 1970-1975, I remember how lonely I felt.  My dog was a poor substitute for what I have now:  Husband, two daughters, and two grandkids.  My married life is so much better than my single life.  I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

This year was the year of home renovation.  We fixed up three bedrooms, spending $13,000 doing so.  Next year will be the year when we make ends meet.  We won’t renovate; we will simply maintain our property.

As for travel, we plan to spend three nights in Las Vegas next May to see Lisa graduate with a degree in physical therapy.  After that, we won’t travel.  It’s not just the expense; it’s the painful ordeal of sitting in tiny seats on a jet for hours.  I can’t bear the thought of being confined to such a small space.

Besides, we have been everywhere:  Canada, Asia, Europe, mainland USA, as well as all of the neighbor islands.  I have no desire to see Africa, the Middle East, Central and South America.  And if we want to see a Koala Bear in Australia, we can always google “koala bear” and view photos on the Internet.

Anyway, Merry Christmas, everyone. Hope you all have an enjoyable time with your family.

12 Responses to “Thoughts on Christmas Eve”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    A lovely post Gigi. Merry Christmas!

  2. Jan Says:

    It’s been a good year for you, it seems. And you are certainly right about air travel. No fun! Merry Christmas, Gigi, and I look forward to your posts, so don’t stop! So glad to have you in my blogosphere. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and family Gigi! You know I’d love to go to Australia and New Zealand one day.

  4. dkzody Says:

    Best wishes to you and your family as you enjoy Christmas and New Years together. For the first time in many years we are staying home throughout the holiday season. I am really enjoying NOT being on the road.

  5. tom sightings Says:

    My only real travel ambition is to, one day, get to see Hawaii! Meanwhile, merry Christmas to you and yours!

  6. Olga Says:

    i have lots of places I still want to travel, but the getting there is no longer half the fun. Have a Merry Christmas.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    Merry Christmas! Enjoy your family time.

  8. palolo Says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. You and David are very blessed to have a loving family. I bet David is happy he married you too.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    happy holidays to you and yours, I just read your mountains will be getting snow, wish we’d get some.

  10. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi and David, Merry Christmas to you both and to your family as well. You do have a wonderful life, just like the movie title, and thanks for sharing the ups and downs in your posts.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    Merry Christmas!

  12. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We don’t travel much either. Better to get that out of your system when you are young.

    David simply won’t go anywhere, not even to Culpeper where my daughter lives. My trips are alone these days.

    If we go into town, we take taxis.

    Like you, I got my traveling over long ago. Don’t miss it a bit. The airlines have made flying a miserable experience. And with the pain of arthritis, I like my own bed.

Leave a Reply

