Going wild at the store

On Black Friday (the special sale on the day after Thanksgiving), David and I stood for 20 minutes to get into Target.  When we got in, we scrambled to buy a karaoke machine for Julia and a portable DVD player with 9 inch screen for Rylan.  These were to be their Christmas presents.  Well, it turns out that the kids weren’t thrilled with these gifts, so Maria went to Target and exchanged them for two gift cards.

This is Maria’s letter to me:

Hi Mom,

We returned the Christmas presents you gave the kids today, and they picked out new toys. I’ve attached the photos of their loot. They still have balances on the gift cards we got in exchange for their presents, so they are excited to be able to go back to pick out more things later.

Julia picked out a Barbie hair styling set. She’s so into pretend and dress up. She’s been playing with it all day:

Jullia toys-A

Rylan picked out one Power Ranger figurine that matches one Lisa gave him. He also got a Super Smash figurine that he can interchange parts if he gets others. And he saw a Power Rangers DVD that he absolutely wanted even though he can see all the episodes on Netflix. He watched it all today, too.

Rylan toys-A

You should’ve seen Ry today. He was so excited and in awe about all the toys he could pick from. There was one toy he wanted to get that was $40 (that didn’t do much), so I told him it would cost most of his money. He changed his mind quick after hearing that.  Hehe.

Thank you again for the thoughtful gifts. I’m sorry you waited in line so long for us, but the intention is appreciated.

We love you.

Love,

Maria

15 Responses to “Going wild at the store”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Your grandkids are traditional. Gril with dolly stuff and boy with action figure. I sent my grandkids money. Ha ha. Maria wrote a very kind letter.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    better to hear it in a letter than to find out later; I wonder though how or if it’s ok to exchange gifts given in love

  3. Jan Says:

    I’m glad that the kids were able to get what they really wanted, and it was a very nice letter. I’m not sure how I would have felt about it myself, but then again, I always give gift cards! 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    It sounds like they would appreciate gift cards next time! They would use them wisely. It’s easier for you too.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I am just debating what to give to Rylan on his 5th birthday next month. Should it be a gift card, a check for his college fund, or an actual present (toy, game, or clothes)?

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    I was impressed with the letter and better to be honest about it and show you the gifts they bought. I am not sure what I would have thought of that, probably a little surprised. I’m thinking maybe a gift certificate too but it’s not as nice as getting an actual gift wrapped under the tree. Still….

  6. Olga Says:

    That is pretty funny. Gift giving can be a hard thing to get right.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    Sigh … what are ya gonna do?!? But I agree, better to exchange, and be honest about it, than get stuck with presents they don’t want.

  8. dkzody Says:

    It is really hard to buy gifts for kids. I don’t do the traditional Christmas and birthday gifts, rather I buy things the kids want when I see them. When they get older, and more sure of their likes, then I may do the traditional gift-giving, but I doubt it. I like to buy and give the item immediately.

  9. dkzody Says:

    Also, I’m so glad your daughter sent the photos of the kids with their gifts. That is worth a lot.

  10. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Gifts become more and more difficult.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    It sounds like your gifts led to a little lesson in economics and well as having fun shopping. It was very thoughtful of maria to write you this letter. It made it fun for you too.

  12. Granny Annie Says:

    And there is the exact reason that I give money to start with. Usually I give the grandchildren a choice. They can shop online and give me the location and item number and I will order it for them or they can take the money and run. Usually they take the money. It was very nice of your daughter, however, to share the final booty results with you.

  13. joared Says:

    I think cash gift cards are so impersonal but that’s what I’ve ended up giving out of state family. Christmas-giving fun for me was listening to pick up dropped hints or ideas about what was liked to select the gift. But when I’m not around children and grandchildren than often it comes down to either asking for a list, sizes if clothes & other particulars. When I did mail gifts I always made it clear they could be exchanged and often they were. So, I went with the flow to gift cards at known preferred businesses which has been welcomed, garnering no complaints. Just seems sorta crassly commercial to me, but they get more ’cause I don’t have postage to pay so guess it’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

