Nice way to start the new year

Mariposa 003-A

I celebrated my 69th birthday last week with Maria and her family at Makino Chaya, and celebrated again today with my sisters and sister-in-law at Mariposa Restaurant.  It’s nice to have a family who cares about me.

Mariposa 001-A

(Left) Sylvia, me, Nedra, and Pat.

The really good news is that my recent lab test scores are all excellent.  I have no issues with glucose, cholesterol, anemia, or thyroid.  My colitis is in remission, my blood pressure is normal, and my GERD is under control.  Above all, I don’t have arthritis or osteoporosis.

Since I own two businesses (GCH Press and G’s Rentals), I have been working on my taxes.  It’s a breeze, because I am organized.  All the business expenses, donations, medical expenses, and other items are in compartments of an accordion file.  David plans to buy TurboTax and figure out our state and federal income taxes in late February.  We hope to pay no income taxes for 2014.

Meanwhile, I have been planning a birthday party for Pat, my brother’s widow.  It is scheduled for March 14 at my home.  I have already paid the caterer, who will provide seven courses, including sushi, chow mein, fish tempura, fried chicken, sweet-sour spareribs, relish tray, and fruit salad.  I plan to make three vegetarian courses (mixed green salad, corn and tomato salad, and broccoli with curry dip) plus tortilla chips and salsa.  Sylvia will bring vegan food from her restaurant.  A guava birthday cake will be ordered from a bakery.  I have invited 25 people, and so far, 24 of them have accepted.

Way to go, gigi.  Nice way to start the new year.

15 Responses to “Nice way to start the new year”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    A lovely photo of you all, the birthday dessert is extremely pretty. A very positive post to start the new year. Congratulations on your health and being so organized with Pat’s birthday party.

  2. Olga Says:

    Great news about your test results! You look healthy and happy, too!

  3. dkzody Says:

    Your party plans sound wonderful, and to have so many RSVPs already is really great. So many people seem to put off rsvping for events. Glad you had some great celebrations for your b’day.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I am glad you got to celebrate your birthday in such good ways…time with family and good health news. All the best to you and you family in the coming year.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Excellent way to start the year. Great news on your tests.

  6. Jan Says:

    Yes, that is all very good news! Happy birthday, Gigi, and you must be a well-known person as a party host to have so many RSVPs already. I wish I were so organized. 🙂

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Belated Happy Birthday and happy planning for the forthcoming party.

  8. Christine Says:

    Happy Birthday Gigi! Wishing you many more happy and healthy ones to come! Your party plan sounds fantastic!

  9. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Happy birthday, congratulations on the med scores, and let the good times roll.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Excellent and you are busy. Nice to have family nearby.

  11. scenenotspoken Says:

    Happy Birthday wishes, Gigi, and your celebration gathering and birthday dessert looked wonderful. How nice to be so well organized at tax-time too. And Pat should have a wonderful birthday party based on your menu.

  12. Kay G. Says:

    Happy Birthday to you! And if the 25th person says no, can I come?

  13. Granny Annie Says:

    You deserve a nice pat on the back. And belated Happy Birthday to you!

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    You’ve done a lot of planning well in advance of your party! That’s a very good RSVP response.

  15. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Belated happy birthday greetings, Gigi! I hope your new year is wonderful — and your party looks delightful!

Leave a Reply

