Trying to follow doctor’s advice

Hawaii:

Hawaii 001-A

Despite my excellent lab test scores, my internist wants me to lose weight by walking for 20-30 minutes three times a week and by eating fresh fruits and vegetables.  This is very good advice, but it is so difficult to adhere to it.

I don’t know why I am so unmotivated.  I look at my friends who exercise and eat right, but they have such lousy scores.  And here I am, doing nothing healthy, and I have terrific scores.  Yeah, life can be so unfair for my friends.

Well, I must not rest on my laurels.  There is always room for improvement.  I shall certainly try to follow my doctor’s advice.

By the way, my doctor sported a huge diamond ring, so I congratulated her on her engagement.  She said she hopes the weather is nice in September, because she is planning an outdoor wedding.  My nephew had a June outdoor wedding in Kaneohe, and my older daughter had hers in July in Kailua.  Both times, the weather was perfect.  It didn’t rain, at all.

So wonderful to prepare for a happy occasion, like a wedding.

21 Responses to “Trying to follow doctor’s advice”

  1. Cathy Says:

    My GP knows I try to follow his advice but still tells me the same thing each time I see him. ‘For the best’ he says ‘ you know what you should be doing’
    Out of curiousity Gigi what is the weather usually like in April?
    Cathy

  2. Snoskred Says:

    Whenever I go to Oahu, I walk for hours each day.. It is such a beautiful place to be, and there are a lot of great footpaths which, living in Australia, we don’t have so many of those.

    I’d park the car at Ala Moana and walk out to the lagoon at Magic Island.. or from Ala Moana to Hilton Hawaiian Village, or just around Ala Moana shopping with my eyes.. 🙂

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I other than housework, I do very little exercise. I hate exercise. However, following Weight Watchers, I have lost and kept off forty pounds. Now I need to get motivated to lose twenty more pounds. I do need to work more veggies into my diet. Fruits too, although they are easier. I too have perfect scores when it comes to everything on the annual lab check-up. Neverthe less as you know I’ve had both a heart attack and a stroke. Don’t mess around. Carrying excess weight is never good.

  4. Christine Says:

    and nothing better than a wedding in Hawaii! And you can do it, Gigi, walking is fun.

  5. Hank Chapin Says:

    I find it very hard to interpret the meaning of various rings nowadays. Various messages and vibes seem to be emanating from all the different rings people wear. Perhaps it is because I am in an in-between, indeterminate stage of life which is likely to continue. When I was married, I didn’t pay any attention because I wore my gold Irish Claddagh wedding ring every day, 24 hours a day. I worked with one woman who wore an engagement-looking ring as a ploy to fend off unwelcome suitors. Another wore a great ring but on on the “wrong” finger, because she wanted to do something for herself not provided by some man. She told me that. The mystery of rings….

    • gigihawaii Says:

      There are men who slip off their wedding ring in their pocket in order to seduce women. Lol.
      David was fiddling with his ring in the car during a traffic stop, and it fell off and under the car seat. It is still there.
      I rarely wear my ring inside the house, but do wear it to parties, restaurants, the symphony, etc.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Bring your camera for a walk. I do and I take photos to blog about. People stop to see what I am taking photos of, we start to chat and I learn so much. Walking is the best exercise. Just at the moment our temps are very low with ice and snow all around. They might look pretty, but the cold air goes for my heart. Once the weather improves, I’ll go wandering again. Good luck with your efforts.

  7. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Taking pictures as you go is good advice. It’s so hard to begin a program, but once begun it could be hard to quit as you find yourself learning new skills and seeing physical benefits!

  8. dkzody Says:

    I like to walk, however, there is no where to walk to around here. I would have to drive somewhere and then walk. Like you, I’m not fond of driving, especially unnecessary driving.

    When shopping, or going anywhere in the car, I park as far out as I can and walk through the parking lot. Gives me some exercise.

    While living in San Francisco, I was out every day, walking. If we lived downtown, I’d walk more as there would be places to walk to. Fresno is not a walkers’ town. Especially out in the suburbs.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Walking is not hard, GiGi. Get going. Listen to music as you walk. Get a pedometer and keep track of your steps each day. Make a chart. Do what it takes. Otherwise you put on a few more pounds every year until it becomes a burden just to carry yourself around.
    You can do this!

  10. Granny Annie Says:

    It is probably the worlds’ greatest task to attempt weight loss. I too am being pressured to lose weight so that I can have my hip replacement surgery. I have lost 20 pounds but still have 14 to go. I track my calories to stay under 1500 each day and ride my exercise bike.

  11. Olga Says:

    I am one of those people that makes a concerted effort to eat right and I get plenty of exercise…and yet I take medication to control blood pressure and my cholesterol numbers a just into the high side. I keep telling myself to look at where I would be if I didn’t work at maintaining my health, and I have only to remember my family history to stay motivated.

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Hi Gigi,

    Girst of all — I want to thank you for your steadfast comments! I’ve visited but haven’t been a good commenter recently but am trying to get back on track as we go into the new year! (Well, we ARE into the new year!).

    And yes, I get it. I need to lose weight but I just have little motivation to get all hot and sweaty! I do hit my gym a couple of days a week and always feel rather virtuous when I do… still… I could do much more (and it would be far more effective!)

  13. Musings Says:

    I’m trying my best to exercise. I don’t think there’s any question that we need to move more. However, I certainly relate to the fact that it’s hard to be consistent. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

