Stimulating my brain and my heart

Hawaii:

Hawaii 003-A

I read recently that all of the Target stores in Canada are going to shut down due to poor sales.  That’s too bad.  David and I love the Target down the street from our neighborhood.  Groceries, clothing, toys, you name it, they are all so inexpensive at Target when compared to other stores on Oahu.

I also read that shopping malls are becoming popular and lucrative in Iran, of all places.  This is amazing considering the turmoil in the Middle East.

As I indicated in my previous post, my doctor wants me to get more exercise.  What better way to do that than by shopping with David?  So, yesterday, I forced myself out of my comfort zone, put on a pair of sandals, and walked around Target.  We purchased fresh fruits and veggies, which my doctor advised me to include in my daily diet.  We strolled up and down the aisles, looking at other items to buy.

By golly, this type of exercise was painless and not boring, at all.  It got me out of my house and stimulated my brain as well as my heart.

Will shopping malls replace the gym some day?  I think it’s more fun to walk in a store than to walk on a boring treadmill.

19 Responses to “Stimulating my brain and my heart”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Here in Australia we have walking groups in our shopping centres/malls that are allowed in before opeing time and walk round and round each level then those that are able, tackle some of the stairs before joining the others. Fun in all sorts of weather summer and winter and inexpensive as well. Has to be a fee of some sort to cover insurance
    The Golfer pointed out the chain closure to me the other day – they hadn’t been open long either. Target here has been going since the early 1970s but doesn’t sell food or groceries of any sort just clothing shoes and other like goods
    Cathy

  2. Jan Says:

    We have a big Target store here at the local Mall, but I rarely shop there. I was surprised to hear that they don’t do well in Canada, since they are always crowded here. I don’t think strolling around the store will replace the gym, Gigi. I need to get my heart rate up a bit more than I do walking around shopping. But maybe that’s just me. 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Well, it’s true that the gym helps to raise one’s heart rate. However, David recently saw two men die of a heart attack after an intense work-out at the gym here. Scary.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I see people power walking through malls a lot. I think it is a great way to exercise. Nice flat terrain, etc.

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Good going.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Good for you for going with David. Even if it wasn’t too physically strenuous it was better than just sitting.

  6. Christine Says:

    there are a lot of mall walkers in our mall, especially now it’s winter. All ages I might add.

  7. Christine Says:

    I didn’t have a target near me, but the one’s I’ve been in were unimpressive, maybe much better in the States. My girlfriend in Florida loves Target there.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    I used to go mall walking with friends. We could enter the mall before the stores were open even, around 7.30 a.m. and walk around three times and that gave us plenty of exercise, then we would go and have coffee and a light breakfast at one of the restaurants that would open early especially for the mall walkers. There were enough of us that it made opening early worth while.

  9. Kay G. Says:

    Can’t you walk on the beach? Or on a walking trail in a park? You have such lovely weather, I would love it!

  10. Olga Says:

    Well, I think you have the secret. If walking around the stores motivates you to get moving, then that is what you should do. And you can buy yourself something with what you save on a gym membership. Some good walking shoes maybe.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Whatever it takes to get you moving. Do you have a small to walk in? Eventually you need to walk faster than just strolling the aisles.

  12. Granny Annie Says:

    If you can do that 3 to 5 times a week it will be good.

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Tread mills are boring and dangerous too. Senator Reed was body slammed by his tread mill over Christmas.

    I used to shop til I dropped or David did. I don’t use malls any more because the floors are so hard and kill my back and legs. Much better for me to walk the dogs, which isn’t too painful.

    Happy to hear you got out with David and went to Target. I am going out to The grocery store later today, although I might use the scooter they provide to go around the store.

  14. scenenotspoken Says:

    Lots of good suggestions here, Gigi, and friends of mine did the mall walking before the stores were opened so they would not spend any money but yet get exercise. They told me that window shopping was less costly than being in the stores 🙂

Leave a Reply

