How do you save your photos?

This is a photo of me and my lovely blog friends, Denise and Dianne, taken in Washington, DC, in August 2013.  We and our husbands had a delicious lunch at the Capital Hilton Hotel, where David and I were staying:

India Miami Washington 938-A

These are photos of me and David, holding a baby alligator in the Florida Everglades in August 2013:

India Miami Washington 665

India Miami Washington 669

I have begun copying photos from Photoshop and pasting them on a USB Flash Drive (portable memory stick).  This is because I lost all of my photos when my computer crashed in December 2011 due to a virus.  I was forced to purchase a new desktop computer.

Previously, I had installed an External Hard Drive to save everything I posted.  But, after the computer crashed, I realized that the external hard drive also contained the virus.  I didn’t want to transfer the virus to my new computer.  So, I discarded that external hard drive and the photos on it.  I lost all of my earlier photos of my grandkids prior to 2012.  Doggone it!

Never use an External Hard Drive, which is plugged in permanently.  Do use a USB Flash Drive, instead, because it is portable.

So far, I have copied photos from 2012 to 2015 and pasted them on my portable USB Flash Drive.  I shall paste more as the year progresses.  I store this flash drive in a secure place in my family room.

I read that people are questioning the wisdom of saving stuff on a cloud.  Did you know that the cloud has been hacked?

How do you save your photos?

18 Responses to “How do you save your photos?”

  1. Jan Says:

    I have my pictures in three places: on my hard drive, backed up on an external hard drive (that I plug in when I want to back it up), and on a separate drive as well. That way I won’t ever lose anything! 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I thought the external hard drive had to be plugged in permanently. Are we talking about the same thing?

      • dkzody Says:

        I only plug my external in when my computer tells me it’s time to back up the hard drive. About once a week or every other week, I’m not sure, I just plug it in and do a back up. The rest of the time, that external hard drive sits elsewhere. The idea being that should the Mac be harmed in any way, the external is out of harm’s way and can be used to retrieve what I have on the Mac. Terry actually has two such externals. One for data and one for photos.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have original copies of photos in albums, photos copied to flash drives, photo copies in clouds, and photos stored on my laptop. These are multiple copies. The only originals I scanned to flash drives came from old photos or slides I copied. I kept the old photos and tossed the slides. I had a closet full of slides taken on various trips. Too much space, too much dust and after we are gone, no one will care about them.

    Re clouds…there are multiple kinds and I use several different kinds from several different companies for several different purposes. The photo above brings back memories of a fun time. Good food good friends and a very nice location. Thanks again for the memories and the wonderful meal.

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    That was a wonderful time we had with you and David Gigi, I’d also like to add my thanks for your company and that delicious meal you treated us to. I hope we can do it again one day.

    I have my photos on my laptop, portable hard drives and two clouds.

  4. Lorraine Says:

    I have made a photo album for each of my grandkids. I don’t put a lot of photos in it but do a few from each vacation we share and from special occasions. I have a feeling that the younger generation will be left with few pictures since technology will probably change so much that flash drives might not even be in existence or people will put off backing stuff up. Remember floppy discs? They would be useless now.

  5. Christine Says:

    good advice. My husband has a hard drive he occasionally backs things up to I think. We are quite bad at doing this regularly. At least most of my art is on the blog.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I am going back to old blog posts and printing the ones about my grandkids. I may not have their photos in Photoshop, but I will have hard copies of them from my blog. I store these hard copies in a 3 ring binder within plastic sleeves.

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    USB drives for me, too.

  7. Olga Says:

    I just started copying last year’s photos onto a flash drive. I put the drive in an envelope with the year on it. I don’t really know what I am doing, but I try.

  8. R.J. Says:

    My photos are filed on my computer and backed up to my husband’s computer, both have Norton by Symantec. Third location is an external 2T hard drive. Fourth location is at http://www.backblaze.com.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    oh I wish I could have met you when you were down there, did the alligator try to bite you ?

  10. Tom Sightings Says:

    Uh oh … I don’t copy anything. So, I think you’re now scaring me into making some backups.

  11. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Like others who posted, Gigi, I also have external hard drives. One is connected to my older HP desktop, which is probably not a good idea should it get a virus😳. I have a Macbook Air with less photos and use an external hard drive also, but only plug it in when it advises that a backup is overdue. I do use USB flashdrives (2) to back up important documents/correspondence, and these are not connected to the PC. I do not back up to cloud storage so cannot comment on how safe that is or is not.

Leave a Reply

