Trip to Ala Moana Center

We drove to Ala Moana Center last Friday to shop at the Apple store:

Ala Moana Center 008-A

David knew what he wanted to buy:

Ala Moana Center 004-A

Something to transfer photos from his camera to his iPad:

Ala Moana Center 005-A

David plans to store lots of photos on his iPad.

After he made his purchase, he sat outside to rest his joints:

Ala Moana Center 007-A

And he took a shot of me.  Note the pretty bear paw pendant that my blog friend, Christine, gave me during her trip to Hawaii last May:

Ala Moana Center 001-A

Bear pendant 006-A

Thanks, Christine!  I will always remember you when I wear this pendant.  She lives with her family in Toronto, Canada, and the bear paw is a Canadian symbol of power and strength.

We then drove to Makino Chaya in Westridge to have a delicious Japanese lunch.

David and I are enjoying our retirement.

17 Responses to “Trip to Ala Moana Center”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    It’s a lovely pendant, Gigi, and all the more special because it was a gift from a friend. We also enjoy going to the Apple store whenever we are in a mall that has one. It’s our adult version of a “toy” store. And, we wholeheartedly agree… Retirement is great!

  2. Olga Says:

    You do seem to make the best of every day.

  3. Christine Says:

    Gigi I am thrilled and touched that you enjoy and wear the chain. And this post makes me miss Hawaii, we did visit that shopping centre. What a great place to live.

  4. Jan Says:

    That is a beautiful chain and design, and it looks quite lovely with your pretty lavender muumuu. 🙂

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    The pendant is lovely, wonderful meaning. I like the photos of you and David, and love your muumuu. I was interested in what David bought from the apple store. I could use that myself.

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    A beautiful pendant and so like a bear’s paw!

  7. dkzody Says:

    That is a beautiful shopping center. Looks like it’s pretty busy, too. So many of the shopping centers in California are not doing well due to the influx of big box store centers. I prefer the shopping center mall to the big box centers, but I am unusual.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Ooh! I like that pendant! Enjoy wearing it.

  9. Suzanne Says:

    What a lovely pendant. It is very pretty.

  10. Granny Annie Says:

    Are you feeling the burn from this new walking exercise program called Shop Til You Drop:-) ?

  11. mageb Says:

    Thanks for all the very nice notes about my photographs. 🙂

  12. palolo Says:

    Keep on shopping and walking. It will be good for you and David. Walk and shop at every mall. Tomorrow Pearlridge. Next Windward Mall, then Ala Moana again a few days later. You’ll have fun.

  13. joared Says:

    I recall my young niece taking me to Ala Moana in early ’70s and proudly telling me it was the largest shopping center in the world at the time.

  14. Cathy Says:

    We saw a huge pool filled with fish last time we were in that shopping centre – like goldfish but much much larger. Is the pool still there Gigi?

  15. Musings Says:

    I bought the same thing, but used up too much space on my iPad. We had to find another way to store our photos.

Leave a Reply

