It’s the only skin you’ve got!

scenic hawaii 007-A

Hawaii.  Splendid, isn’t it?

There was a time when I would go to the beach every weekend and bask in the sun.  Ugh.  No wonder I have so many moles on my back.  It’s a miracle I don’t have skin cancer, considering how many times I got sunburned.

I haven’t been to the beach since November 2012 and don’t miss it.  Been there, done that.

And this is another reason why I don’t do any gardening or yard work.  The sun can be quite brutal here in Hawaii even in the morning and afternoon.

If you apply sunscreen lotion to your skin, it will disappear when you perspire and you will have to reapply it.

In fact, David has had two moles removed (from his back and his forearm), so he now swims indoors at the gym.  We have also hired a company to do our yard work every month, because David doesn’t want to do it himself and risk getting skin cancer.

The best sunscreen is staying indoors.  Once your skin develops moles, wrinkles, and even cancer, there is no turning back.  You’re stuck with that skin forever.

Be kind to your skin, folks!  It’s the only skin you’ve got.

13 Responses to “It’s the only skin you’ve got!”

  1. Jan Says:

    My sister lives in Florida and is outdoors a lot. She’s having a treatment right now for her face, since she’s got such skin damage. It’s some kind of chemical peel. I just had a bunch of spots burned off my face, too. You’re right about taking care of our skin. 🙂

  2. Olga Hebert Says:

    It is kind of embarrassing to walk around in a sunny climate with pale white skin, but I have always been vigilant about sun screen. Can’t bring myself to stop going to the beach or doing yard work though. But you are right, skin cancer is NOT a good thing. It has brought flocks and flocks of dermatologists to Florida though.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’ve had skin cancer three times, ands always wear long sleeves and hats outside. I see my dermatologist every six months also. I have a sun screen ointment I purchased from the dermatologist. I don’t do as much yard work as I once did, but I can’t stay indoors all day when the weather is nice.

    I have extremely fair skin and I wonder why oh why did we spend hours trying to keep a tan?

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I haven’t sun bathed since I was 23 and I fell asleep for half an hour. Woke up with the most awful huge blisters on my face. Cured me there and then! I enjoy going to the beach but not for sitting or sunbathing. I like to walk on the board walk, sometimes stick my toes in the ocean and look out as far as I can see. I have fair skin also and it doesn’t take much to burn.

  5. Christine Says:

    I do love the beach though! Good thing we’re not close to one. Love your photo today.

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    And how do we convince the youngsters?

  7. Kay G. Says:

    You are not kidding. Richard and I both have had pre cancer on our skin and have been told to always wear hats and sunscreens. The sun in Georgia can be brutal too!

  8. Granny Annie Says:

    Living in the country, I have many outdoor chores. I have to take care of the animals and the property. When I mow I slather on the sunscreen and hope it will help but still get quite a tan every summer.

  9. L....w Says:

    Also we must protect our lips from cancer….I had pre cancer lesions removed because it was constantly peeling. I use sunscreen religiously and never forget to rub sunscreen on my lips as well. I find it easier to do that rather than use lip balm.

Leave a Reply

