Colonizing the moon

scenic hawaii 004-A

Hawaii.  Doesn’t that water look enticing?

It may not happen in my lifetime, but scientists predict that global warming will result in rising sea levels and that the present shoreline in Hawaii will disappear under water.

Imagine the hotels in Waikiki being accessible only by boat rather than by car.  Will Waikiki look like Venice, then?

I wonder if it is wise for us to build President Obama’s Library on the shores of Kakaako in Honolulu, one of three places mentioned as a site for the library.  The other two sites mentioned are Chicago and New York City.  Chicago might be a better location, as it is inland and won’t be subject to rising sea levels.

Perhaps, you don’t care.

After all, nothing seems permanent.  We are mere specks in the universe.

When the Earth is no longer inhabitable, humans will probably be residing elsewhere in the solar system.  Will the moon be colonized?  Or Mars?  Or some other new frontier?

I wish I could be around when that happens.

13 Responses to “Colonizing the moon”

  1. Olga Says:

    Yes, the water looks enticing, but I don’t necessarily want beach front property that makes its way to me instead of the other way round.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    It’s been so cold here I wish I was in Hawaii

  3. Jan Says:

    It would be nice if people could be interesting in saving our home instead of colonizing the moon and Mars. But there’s so little interest in that. I for one am glad I won’t be around to see the worst of our folly. 😦

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    And it’s OK with me that I won’t be. I wonder how our grandchildren will proceed.

  5. Christine Says:

    Interesting thoughts today…and where will we all live after the water levels rise, scary thought.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Wow, I can tell you’ve drifted into a contemplative place. Yes the seas are rising, and they have done it before. did you know what constitutes the North Sea today was a grassland just after the last glacial maximum? As the ice melted, the English Channel forms and eventually flooded the grassland, making it the North Sea.

    I think the library should be built in Chicago, making it accessible to scholars everywhere.

    As for space travel, don’t hold your breath. David and I argue about this all the time, but I think spending money on space is wasteful. Let’s clean up the earth first. I believe the earth is all we have.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I didn’t know that about the North Sea.

      As for spending money on space travel, just think where we all would be if Christopher Columbus’ trip to the New World had not been financed by royalty.

      I find astronomy absolutely fascinating.

  7. Juicy_J Says:

    I’d think sea level change might effect Chicago vis a vis Lake Michigan

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Today’s science fiction because tomorrow’s fact. Who knows? That photo is gorgeous Gigi, and yes the water does look enticing.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I figure our beach properties on Whidbey Island and the Oregon coast are doomed eventually. And no, I don’t want to be around to see it.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    The only thing I am sure of, is that I will die when my time is up and not a moment before or a moment after. So why waste precious time worrying about something that may never happen. Not long ago we had some nut proclaiming that the world would end on a certain date, yet we are all still here to prove him wrong, Then we were supposed to have a millennium bug kill all our computers…..

  11. Granny Annie Says:

    My vote is for President Obama’s library to be on the moon:-)

Leave a Reply

