“How to stop worrying and start living”

David has begun reading Dale Carnegie’s book, “How to Stop Worrying and Start Living”:

How to stop worrying 002-A

How to stop worrying 004-A

The book jacket lists 10 ways this book will help you:

  1. Gives you a number of practical, tested formulas for solving worry situations.
  2. Shows you how to eliminate 50 percent of your business worries immediately.
  3. Brings you seven ways to cultivate a mental attitude that will give you peace and happiness.
  4. Shows you how to lessen financial worries.
  5. Explains a law that will outlaw many of your worries.
  6. Tells you how to turn criticism to your advantage.
  7. Shows you how to avoid fatigue – and keep looking young.
  8. Explains four working habits that will help prevent fatigue and worry.
  9. Tells you how to add one hour a day to your waking life.
  10. Shows you how to avoid emotional upsets.

This book was first published in 1944 and millions of copies have been sold since then.  Dale Carnegie died at age 66 in 1955.  The cause of death was Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

I might read the book myself when David is finished with it.

Meanwhile, a little bit of retail therapy helps.  This is what I purchased at Macy’s the other day:

jewelry 002-A

Life doesn’t have to be a drag or a chore.  Find some way to have fun!

14 Responses to ““How to stop worrying and start living””

  1. Olga Says:

    I find less and less to worry about every day. I wonder if I am becoming senile! Maybe I will go out for some retail therapy today and forget that worry quickly!

  2. Jan Says:

    I read this book many years ago. I am not sure I can remember much about it, but I hope David enjoys it and you do, too. My adventure starts today, after I get up and start my day! I’ll go to sleep in Turkey! 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    Sounds like a good book!

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Girls and apparently David want to have fun.

  5. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    I do like your idea of therapy, Gigi, and hope that David enjoys his book.

  6. L...w Says:

    Hmmm…hope he doesn’t worry about worrying too much.

  7. Granny Annie Says:

    I will take jewelry over reading any day.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Sometimes the old books are the best books. I myself eliminated 100 percent of my business worries immediately — I retired. Didn’t help my financial worries, however. Oh well, can’t have everything.

  9. Cathy Says:

    Years ago I read his other one- how to win friends etc and there’s a copy here in the house ‘somewhere’ – this one looks interesting and it’s never too late to find out what we have been doing (right or wrong) in the living stakes 🙂 Might see if it’s in the 2nd hand shop or failing that the library.
    Cathy

  10. Suzanne Says:

    The book sounds excellent. I have never heard of it.

  11. Linda Starrl Says:

    sounds like a great book ,will have to check our library

Leave a Reply

