Animal rights activists and vegetarians

11-1982-zoo-3-A

Honolulu Zoo, 1982:  Me, Lisa, and Maria.

There have been a number of improvements to the zoo, since this photo was taken.

Alas, there are some individuals who are calling for the closure of the Honolulu Zoo, because it is considered too expensive to run.  I think it would be a shame to close it, as it is educational for the young children who visit it.

Besides the Honolulu Zoo, Oahu also boasts Sea Life Park and the Waikiki Aquarium.  David and I have been to all three venues many times and enjoyed ourselves.

Sure, activists feel that it is cruel to enclose animals and that these creatures should be released into the wilderness.  They have a point.

Vegetarians feel the same way, I suppose.  Why eat meat, when it means animals have to be slaughtered?

Sorry, I am neither an animal rights activist nor a vegetarian.  I happen to be a carnivore, who likes to eat meat as well as visit the Zoo, Sea Life Park, and the Aquarium.

How do you feel about all of this?

9 Responses to “Animal rights activists and vegetarians”

  1. Jan Says:

    I don’t eat meat, except for fish, and I don’t visit zoos for the reasons you point out so well. I don’t like to support cruelty to animals and pay a fortune for eggs that come from happy chickens. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    I used to take my kids to the zoo, it was great fun.

  3. Olga Says:

    I never declared myself a vegetarian, but I find myself eating less and less meat as time goes on and especially as I cook just for myself. But I do enjoy seeing animals and so I like the zoo and animal parks. I tell myself the animals are well cared for.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I am semi-vegetarian. I don’t eat baby anything. That means lamb and veal. One of my granddaughters is vegetarian, so I know how difficult that diet can be.

    As for animal rights, I am for them, but think the new approach to zoo keeping, where animals are used for captive breeding and given space to roam is much better…especially the big cats. Our zoo here in DC is the role model as is the San Diego zoo.

    Most zoos around the US need improvement.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I eat meat, but less and less all the time, just because it appeals to me less.
    I don’t really like zoos. The better zoos have made life much better for the animals, but then much harder for visitors to see the animals. I wonder if we really need them any more, what with it being so easy to see animals on TV and videos, animals that are living free in the wild. We are having a controversy right now here in Seattle about how to “retire” our two old elephants. Should they go to another zoo or to a refuge. I vote for a refuge.
    Knowing how intelligent sea mammals are, it seems cruel to keep them penned up so they can perform tricks in a circus type “Sea world” show.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    With more and more animals being endangered in the wild, I can see a need for taking care of them in zoos. It’s not the perfect solution but the world is not perfect. Zoos do need to make the animal habitats as natural as possible and another thought, if we let the captive animals back into their natural habitat, wouldn’t that be in turn rather cruel? Would they know how to survive? I’d be interested in other thoughts on that matter as I am by no means an expert. I hope your zoo is kept open. I remember going there on our last two visits. Another thought, it is a chance for our children to see animals they would not get to see otherwise.

    I am not a vegetarian but make many vegetarian meals.

  7. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I have not been to a zoo in decades; I don’t like to see captive animals. That said, the animals cannot be returned to the wild; they do not have the proper skills. In addition, zoos are serving a function in preserving endangered species. And, I do believe are far better for animals than when I quit going.

  8. Granny Annie Says:

    I too am a carnivore. I eat chicken but NOT any of my chickens. They all have names and personalities. I only eat anonymous chicken.

  9. Linda Starrl Says:

    I used to love zoos when I was a kid, I think if the animals have a large enough enclosure so as not to become neurotic then it’s a good educational venue for kids

Leave a Reply

