Let’s not urbanize Hawaii

Glenda-Oct 1986-A

David-Oct 1986-A

These photos of me and David were taken on Maui sometime during the 1980s.  We must have been in our late 30s.  Don’t we look splendid?  Ah, to be that age, again.

We have been to all of the neighbor islands except for Niihau (privately owned by the Robinson family) and for Kahoolawe (uninhabitable).  Yes, we have been to Lanai, Molokai, Maui, Kauai, and the Big Island, besides residing on Oahu.

After billionaire Ellison is finished developing Lanai, which he owns, we would like to revisit that island to see if he has made it better or worse.  When we were there, it was rural and basically a pineapple plantation.

I worry that developers are killing Hawaii with monstrous buildings.  It’s fine to be modern, but I hate the sight of too much concrete.  Ugh.

For instance, the mayor of Honolulu wants to “improve” the Blaisdell Concert Hall by replacing it with something more modern.

Isn’t this good enough:

2-13-11-1-blaisdell-A

2-13-11-2-A

I love this concert hall just the way it is!  The acoustics inside are fine.  David and I enjoy attending symphony concerts and the opera here.

Let’s not urbanize Hawaii so much that it becomes another New York City.

15 Responses to “Let’s not urbanize Hawaii”

  1. Olga Says:

    You do look great, but then, you still do.

  2. Christine Says:

    I think it is a real threat. You are so pretty! David looks handsome too.

  3. Jan Says:

    It is probably inevitable that every desirable place will be urbanized as population pressures grow. It’s sad but probably unstoppable.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    But I agree … not all change is for the better. Can they renovate instead of replace?

  5. Granny Annie Says:

    You gusy are beautiful people in a beautiful place. Like you I hope it won’t be too modernized.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I always enjoy your photos, these of you and David are lovely. I don’t like concrete monstrosities either.

  7. Beate Says:

    Those first two pictures of you are wonderful. That’s how I imagine what Hawaii looks like. The concrete is too much for my taste already. I sure hope they won’t make it worse!

  8. Cathy Says:

    Unfortunately that sort of thing happens here as well – then it becomes a case of ‘you don’t know what you had until it has gone’. If it happens will the new build be from state money or private investment?
    You and David certainly were a good pair to look at in your younger days 🙂

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    One of the reasons I have not returned to Hawaii since my second on trip in 1970, is because I was dismayed by what I saw then. So sad, and its happening everywhere for better and worse.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Alas, not all progress is progress.

  11. Linda Starr Says:

    You two look super, I know what you mean, if only to be that age again, I can’t imagine how crowded Hawaii is now, I lived there in the fourth grade and we could go out to the pineapple fields and the workers would give us tastes of the pineapple, the main shopping area on Oahu had wooden carts full of coconuts free for the taking, those were the days

  12. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    It is sad indeed when things are replaced vs improved or simply left “as is” because newer is NOT always better and this is true of many things. I agree with your comment that the concert hall should be left.

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    And yes to be youthful again would be wonderful, but to enjoy life at any age is a joy as well. From reading your posts, Gigi, I suspect you know and do that to the fullest…good for you and David!

Leave a Reply

