A wild woman found stability

1979-1982-1-a

Me and Maria, 1979.

1979-1982-2-a

Me and Lisa, 1982.

1979-1982-3-a

David, Maria, and Lisa.  1982.  This was the condo we lived in before we bought our house.

Ah, memories.  I can’t believe that so much time has elapsed since these photos were taken.  Now, I am 69, David is 65, Maria is 36, and Lisa is 32.  Their birthdays are coming up.

If it were not for my family, where would I be?  Life can be awfully lonely when one is alone.

I was very adventurous when I traveled around the world by myself after graduating from the University of Hawaii in 1968.  Little did I know what was in store for me.  It’s always nice to look back and reflect on what transpired.  Some of it was good, some of it bad, and some of it downright dangerous.

I am amazed that I am still alive, considering all the risks I took.  Simply traveling up Thailand by train and crossing the Mekong River by motor boat to get into Laos was scary.  Fortunately, I was not kidnapped, gang raped, and killed by thugs.  Consider what is going on in places like the Middle East and Africa at this time.

David’s life has been very different from mine.  He never had to survive on his own in a foreign country or even on the mainland.  He went from his parents’ home to living with me after we married.  He had a very sheltered life compared to mine.  But, maybe that’s what I need.  Some stability.  David is my rock and I love clinging to him.

Who would have thought that this wild woman would settle down and eventually become a wife, mother and grandmother?  If I can do it, so can you.  Life does not have to be full of upheaval and drama.

Postscript:

Here I was in Thailand, age 23:

wat-pra-keo-1-a

I enjoyed teaching English as a second language at Thammasat University, AUA Language Center, and Voice of America (January – November 1969).  I also had many private Thai students.  When I left Thailand, I had over a thousand dollars in my wallet, enough to fund my solo trip through Europe.

16 Responses to “A wild woman found stability”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    A wonderful reminiscence of past times. Yes, most of us did scary things when we were younger. Now that I have survived my own and the exploits of my three kids, I’m watching my granddaughters live their lives and wondering how adventuresome they will be. We live in scary times, but then times have always been scary.

    So wonderful you found your own ‘Rock’ to cling to after being storm-tossed.

  2. L....w Says:

    David has much to do with your success and vice versa. I think you both complement each other well. He’s the rock and you are the spice??

  3. Jan Says:

    What wonderful memories you have. I know you cherish them, and fortunately so can I, with the pictures you share. I’m glad you found each other. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    Gigi you are so pretty and the kids looked adorable! Lucky you and David.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Lovely photos Gigi, it’s very nice to see you when you first had your children. Compared to your earlier life mine was quite tame. Like David I went from my parents home to my husband’s home, while changing countries doing it. There were skiing holidays in Austria before married life, where I jumped on a train with a friend and took off across the country to see another part of it, but that’s about as adventurous as it got.

  6. Olga Says:

    You had a wonderful sense of adventure and an interesting life that I am sure has had its impact on David and your children. You can say you have it all.

  7. Joanne Noragon Says:

    You certainly have traveled an interesting memory lane.

  8. Kay G. Says:

    What great photos! As a travel agent, I used to say to folks, “You want something to tell your grandkids about, right?” And very often, I would talk them into doing something just because of that question!

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    You were a very adventurous young woman. I can’t imagine doing what you did then. You have a very settled life now. Is there any of that adventurous spirit still hanging around in you?

  10. Granny Annie Says:

    Wonderful to see these photos of your past.

  11. Tom Sightings Says:

    If you don’t mind my saying so, you were quite the looker in 1979 (and you still are)!

  12. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    Thanks for sharing the trip down memory lane, Gigi. It is fun to look back and remember. You certainly did lead an adventurous life!

  13. Linda Starr Says:

    I know you mentioned it before about traveling the world but seeing your photo in Thailand really makes all the difference, and hearing of your adventures. when I graduated from college I hitchhiked all throughout Mexico, down the Baja and up the mainland. I feel like we are kindred souls.

  14. Musings Says:

    It really does fill me with awe that you went off and did so much, had so many adventures on your own. Happy birthday to your mom. She was an amazing seamstress and accomplished lady. And David is a kind and gentle man.

Leave a Reply

