Happy 99th Birthday, Mom!

Today is my mother’s 99th birthday.  David and I went to her nursing home to wish her a happy birthday and to present her with a photo of us, wearing colorful Korean costumes.  Though she does not converse anymore, due to dementia, I hope she remembers us when she looks at our photo on her bulletin board.

This is my mother, the eldest of ten children, at age 27 in 1943.  Later in life, she was a registrar at Damien Memorial High School:

Mom-1945-29 yrs old-A

And this is she at age 99 today:

Mom 99 birthday 004-A

David and I were with Mom today:

Mom 99 birthday 005-A

My father, who was a tailor for the Marine Corps, passed away in 1997 at age 87.

I am one of seven children.  Three sons died (one at birth, one at 18 months, and one at 55 years of age).  I am the eldest of four daughters.

There are four generations pictured in this photo:  Mom, Maria (Mom’s first grandchild), Julia (Mom’s first great grandchild), and me.  This photo of us was taken in December 2007:

Rylan is my mother’s second and last great grandchild.  Here is Rylan (age 10  months) with his sister, Julia (age 3 years), in December 2010:

xmas2010-5-grandkids-A

If my mother reaches her 100th year in 2016, it will be an awesome accomplishment.

Happy 99th Birthday, Mom!

12 Responses to “Happy 99th Birthday, Mom!”

  1. Jan Says:

    Happy birthday to your mom, and thank you for the wonderful pictures! 🙂

  2. L....w Says:

    You are blessed with some very good genes. I suspect genes win out most other influences. I wish your mom well and it would be an accomplishment to reach 100, it would set a good example and legacy for the family.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    Happy birthday to your mom, you are indeed fortunate to have had her with you for so many years.

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    Such lovely photos! Happy Birthday to your mother Gigi.

  5. Christine Says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom!

  6. Kay G. Says:

    Happy 99th Birthday to your Mom! What a wonderful thing to celebrate!
    The photo that you gave her…is that the photo of the two of you that I like so much, the one that you had on your blog recently? If so, it’s a good one! 🙂

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    Reaching that age is quite an accomplishment. Congratulations to your mother and to her loving family.

  8. Linda Starr Says:

    happy birthday to your mom, so glad she has made it to ripe age through thick and thin; nice that she is close by so you can visit her

  9. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    Happy Birthday wishes to your mother, Gigi, and what a treasure to still have her with you. As you know my own mother dies this past Dec at age 92 and I miss her every day.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I can see a faint resemblance between you and your mom in your cheekbones. Happy Birthday to her.

  11. dkzody Says:

    Your mother looks fantastic. So glad you are able to celebrate with her.

Leave a Reply

