Dancing with David

Have you noticed how prevalent facial hair is on men these days?  It seems to be the fashion.  How do you feel about this?  I prefer men without facial hair.

This is a photo of David with a mustache.  We were celebrating Maria’s first birthday in 1979:

maria-1 yr-David-A

There is a height discrepancy between us.  I am 5’1” and he is 6’1” tall.  Somehow, we managed to kiss each other on our wedding day in 1980.  By this time, he had shaved off his mustache:

wwed-2-a

This is a photo of us ballroom dancing (1990s).  We used to have so much fun on the dance floor.  Alas, his bad joints preclude dancing of any kind anymore:

Ballroom dancing-1995-A

David has decided to have his left knee surgically replaced.  You may recall that he cancelled surgery last October, because he was feeling better.  Lately, he has been having a tough time bending his left leg and putting on his sock and ankle brace.  He intends to see his internist this month, ask for a referral to the orthopedic surgeon, and get on the waiting list for surgery.

Who knows, David might be able to dance again if the surgery is successful.

11 Responses to “Dancing with David”

  1. Christine Says:

    I have heard wonderful things about knee replacement. Hope this goes well.

  2. dkzody Says:

    Terry and I are a foot apart in height, too. I’m 5’3′” and he’s 6’3″ so I understand the stooping and stretching to kiss. Our house has a step-down family room so we have developed this habit of standing on two different levels to kiss and hug. Works pretty well.

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    All will go well; it will be a wonderful new knee.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Regarding surgery, when he gets around to it, I wish him well. I used to love dancing, my first husband was the dancer. I don’t think David and I have ever danced. Not his thing.

  5. Olga Says:

    I do hope you both get to dance again.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Lovely photos! Gregg is six inches taller than me at 6 feet. Our son is four inches taller than his Dad. His wife is around my height.

  7. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    We lucked out in the height department as there’s only a 5 inch difference between us; Grenville is taller too. A nice group of family photos to show us the way your family was in past years. Grenville also sported a moustache in his younger days and a number of years ago he grew a beard, but now is clean shaven.

  8. L....w Says:

    You both have a lot in common, again involving music. Pictures sure help relive the memories. Hope David will be able to dance with you again one day.

  9. palolo Says:

    The doctor will tell David to lose weight to reduce stress on his knee. This is the reason I hate going to doctors, they always scold you but you know they are correct.

  10. Musings Says:

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for David. The rehab will take time, but I’m sure it will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

