Loving my hobbies

kauai-2008-golf-us-1-a

David and I at a golf course on Kauai, July 2008.

I still blog and cook, enjoying these hobbies because of the creativity involved.  I think that being creative staves off dementia.

I have been trying to get David to blog and cook, too, but he prefers to watch TV and exercise at the gym.

He loves to talk and listen, whereas I like to read and write.  His constant talking becomes a problem when I am trying to blog.  The solution is to get up early in the morning and write my blog posts before he wakes up.

It’s so nice to get up around 3:00 a.m. and fix myself a pot of coffee, always Roy’s Kona Blend, purchased at Costco.  I pour myself a tall glassful and add a smidgeon of skim milk and nothing else.  I then sip my coffee and read the morning newspaper.  I look at the headlines on each page, and read what interests me.  Not everything I read is about politics and war.  There are the science and health columns, which discuss the latest breakthroughs in curing disease and keeping healthy.

Then I go to the computer and check my email, my blog stats, blog comments, other people’s blogs, as well as online news.  I especially like looking at my blog stats, particularly the list of countries where readers hail from.  People from all over the world read my blog.  It’s simply incredible.  I have no clue as to how they found my blog, nor do I know their names.

Then, there’s cooking.  I am so grateful that David is a willing guinea pig and doesn’t mind eating something new for dinner.  He likes variety.  For instance, I baked a chicken and water chestnut casserole, which he really enjoyed.  It was just a new way to cook chicken that was tasty and interesting.

Over all, I love my hobbies.

15 Responses to “Loving my hobbies”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    I found your blog searching for blogs in Hawaii which there are not a lot of, surprisingly.

    Would love to see the chicken and water chestnut recipe in a future blog post. 🙂 I love water chestnuts!

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I have no idea how I came across your blog.
    There seems to be quite a storm brewing up in your golf course picture.

  3. Jan Says:

    I enjoy your blog, too, but I don’t have any recollection of how I came across it initially. I find blogging intellectually stimulating, too. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    You have a good life Gigi! I read the health news too.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    3:00 AM is not morning; it’s the middle of the night! I guess that’s one way to have quiet.
    I guess I think of cooking as one of my jobs, not a hobby. I cook because I like to eat. Maybe eating is my hobby?

  6. Olga Says:

    i had the same reaction as Linda Reeder about 3 AM.
    I do understand the cooking as a hobby. It is wonderful that you can bring the creative spark to the task, and thereby transform it.

  7. dkzody Says:

    Funny how I enjoyed cooking (and entertaining) when I was younger, but I’ve recently gotten stuck in what to cook. I seem to make the same things over and over. Glad you enjoy trying new things.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    I think you found me first, then I returned the visits. I love my hobbies, they distract me in the dark winter evenings.

  9. Beatrice P Boyd Says:

    It’s nice that you have a morning ritual that works well for you, Gigi. I also enjoy getting up early and find that posting to the blog is better for me at that time.

  10. Tom Sightings Says:

    There’s nothing quite as wonderful as that quietude. I try to find mine at 3 p.m., not 3 a.m. — but whatever works. As for hobbies: B likes to cook. I like to eat. We’re a perfect match!

  11. l...w Says:

    My hobby is crafts…hoping to develop myself to the level of a fiber mixed media artist one day. My husband is exactly opposite of me…he hates arts and crafts, the mere mention of those words irritate him. But he patiently will listen to me when I want to share my art insights. He says just don’t make me do craft too!!

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    You both look wonderful on the golf course; love your moo moo . I have my coffee while I read blogs, just coffee and half and half, weaned myself off sugar long ago. I can’t get Gary to cook or write, but he can type with two fingers now that he uses the computer. He does like to read though.

    I also like to cook; I used to sew quite a bit, I used to garden but after I hurt my back I had to give most of it up, although I pruned the fruit trees the other day. I’ve tried just about everything because I like learning new things.

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Hobbies or interest groups are a wonderful way to keep your mind active. Sometimes, I think being a volunteer like Mage over at Postcards would be fun, but I don’t like the structure of having to do something. I am trying to become more spontaneous, which means finding ways to be impulsive on occasion.

    As for interests, mercifully, I will be able to get into my garden once more as spring is nearly here. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

