Ways to live well, but inexpensively

banditos-check-your-guns-a

This cute sign was posted at the entrance of a now-closed Mexican restaurant in Hawaii.

Yesterday was David’s 66th birthday, so we took advantage of the special deal at the Japanese restaurant, Makino Chaya:  Birthday person (David) has a free lunch if accompanied by a regular paying customer (me).  So that’s what we did.  We stood in the buffet line many times and helped ourselves to many types of Japanese food – all for the price of one paying customer.  What made it even sweeter was that I had a 5% senior discount.  Total price for the two meals was $13.91 (including tax).

That’s David second from right:

Makino Chaya 001-A

Makino Chaya 005-A

There are so many ways we can cut the expense of living in Hawaii, which has the highest cost of living in the United States.  One way is the special deal at Makino Chaya Japanese Restaurant, as described above.

Another way is to take advantage of the special discount at the Dole Movie Theaters.  Every Tuesday, David pays $6.00 for admission and $2.00 for a bag of popcorn.  What a great deal!  Think of the savings.  I don’t usually watch movies, but we plan to see “Cinderella” this Tuesday, because we want to see the fabulous costumes and the pretty people in this movie.  It will be a visual feast, and any movie with a happy ending is worth seeing in my opinion.

Today, I plan to go to Macy’s for retail therapy.  I have to replace my shoes, which I purchased in 2008.  I have worn these shoes in Japan, Hong Kong, Macau, India, Miami, Washington, DC, as well as Hawaii.  My shoes have seen better days, obviously.  I hope I can find something decent with my Macy’s card and discount coupons.

These are the shoes I want to replace:

Makino Chaya 020-A

May you find ways to live well but inexpensively, too.

14 Responses to “Ways to live well, but inexpensively”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Our best wishes to David for a Happy Birthday year and celebrating that long. Kudos to you, Gigi, on seeking out the dining out bargains, which we do as well,mincluding the senior discount. There is no advantage in not taking advantage of offered discounts. We too have saved at restaurants and movies. And, we are also planning to see Cinderalla and at an early-bird show for $6. Like you, we enjoy a good fairy tale with a happy ending and a chance to relive a childhood memory is a plus.

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    And Grenville just reminded me to add, “there’s no challenge in buying retail” which is why we shop at thrift stores, usually for fun but often finding a real bargain! And buying refurbished products is another way to save.

  3. DJan Says:

    I hope you find a pair of shoes that you enjoy wearing. I always am sad to have to retire a favorite pair myself. 🙂

  4. Olga Says:

    If shoes could talk, what stories yours would have to tell. I would say they gave you your money’s worth

  5. Christine Says:

    Happy Birthday to David! I really want to see Cinderella too. And have you heard about The 2nd best exotic Marigold hotel? I want to see that one too.

    I’m all for the discounts, great value!

  6. Christine Says:

    Gigi tell David it’s Albert Einstein’s birthday today too!

  7. gigihawaii Says:

    Thanks for your comments, everybody! David always reads my blog, so he is familiar with some of your names.

  8. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I went to a quilt show with a friend yesterday. By showing a AAA card we could have a discount. I rifled in my stash of non-credit cards and was about to put them back, not finding it, when the cashier snatched one out and announced “This is it!” She must have looked a a lot of them.

  9. L....w Says:

    I use frugality as a means to an end. Lately I’ve been asking myself…which is more important to me, time or money. I just want enough money so I have my basic needs met and the security to know my future needs will be met. I’ve guesstimated what that number should be. My goal for the next year and a half before husband and I begin fixed income retirement is to reduce our expenses to a certain number, then I am satisfied we won’t outlive our savings. Then time to me will be mine to waste as I please because I have freed myself from having to worry about money, and I can do all the things I couldn’t do before because it was not productive enough. My husband and I iwon’t have private pension as our third leg of retirement, so frugality will have to be that leg.

  10. Tom Sightings Says:

    Happy birthday to David; love the sign at the door (and so sorry to hear abt. his sister, and your sister’s husband … my condolences.)

  11. Granny Annie Says:

    You two are very frugal.

  12. Kay G. Says:

    I was cheap, oh sorry, FRUGAL, before it was cool!
    You enjoy your purchases more if you get a good deal on them!

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Yes, coupons, deals and other cost saving are the way to go when you are retired. I need new shoes too. Next month, maybe.

  14. Bella Rose Says:

    Those shoes have quite a history!

Leave a Reply

