My mother (1916-2015)

My mother died on Saturday, March 14, 2015 at her nursing home in Honolulu.  David and I are so glad we saw her that morning.  When I said, “Hi, Mom, it’s me Glenda,” she said, “Hi.”  That was the only time she said anything to us.  David and I held her hands and spoke kindly to her.

I told her that she had lived a good life.  She’d had seven children and she had enjoyed her travels around the world.  After each trip, she would invite her travel group to her home for a potluck dinner.  She’d also had a nice career as a registrar at Damien Memorial School.

I would like to die like my mother – peacefully and painlessly.  She did not have cancer, heart disease, or diabetes.  She simply slipped away over a period of a week, first refusing food and then water.

She was 99 years old.

Here are some photos of my mother:

My wedding at Waioli Chapel:  Our mothers were our witnesses.  David’s mother, David, me, and Mom (1980):

wwed-1-a

Christmas party at my home:  Me, Mom, Maria holding Julia, Lisa, and David (2007):

Lunch at the Mariposa Restaurant:  Mom, me and David (2009):

flowers and mom-3-A

Lisa’s graduation party at The Willows Restaurant.  That’s Mom in the front row (2012):

willows

My niece Asia’s graduation party at Dagon Burmese Restaurant:  My younger sisters Nedra and Sylvia, and Mom (2014):

Asia-Dagon Burmese Restaurant 011-A

Mom’s 99th birthday at her nursing home:  Mom, me, and David (2015):

Mom 99 birthday 005-A

We all loved my mother and will miss seeing her at our family parties.  May she rest in peace.

22 Responses to “My mother (1916-2015)”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Gigi. Many hugs to you and yours.

  2. Cathy Says:

    In all the tales you’ve told us about your family Gigi one thing has shone through and that is your love for your mother. This loss will be hard for you coming so soon after your brother in laws passing and also doubly hard for your sister with her having lost both her husband and her mother within such a short time of each other.
    My love to you all.
    Cathy

  3. DJan Says:

    You are right that she had a very good passing. She lived a long and full life, and I too hope that I am able to have as gentle a death as your mother. May she rest in peace, Gigi.

  4. Christine Says:

    So sorry Gigi, it was a good life.

  5. Hattie Says:

    Condolences on the loss of your mother. She did have a good life.

  6. L....w Says:

    My condolences to you and your family. This must be such a trying time with one too many losses in less than a week…being the oldest daughter and sibling too must be especially trying. Lovely memories kept throughout your blog of your mom.

    L…w

  7. De Says:

    I’m sorry for your loss of your mother and brother in law. May they both rest in peace.

  8. Lorna Says:

    It’s been a very sad month for your family, and although I don’t know you (except through your blog), wish you and your family the best.

  9. Joanne Noragon Says:

    As you said, a long and happy life. A sweet good bye to your mother.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    My condolences to you and your family. Losing a mother is never easy, hang on to the good memories and celebreate her life.

  11. scenenotspoken Says:

    Our condolences to you and your family, Gigi. I recall your recent post about your mother’s birthday and know you are glad that you and David were there with her. My mother passed away this past December (age 92) so I know this is a sad time for you especially after the recent death of your brother-in-law.

  12. dkzody Says:

    My sincere sympathy on the loss of your mother. thank you for taking the time to share the photos of your mother at a variety of events through the years. It looks like she had a good life and enjoyed living it. May you have good memories to help you through these days of grieving.

  13. mmmm Says:

    Sincere condolences upon the loss of your beloved Mother..My aunt is the exact same age, the last living member of my Mother’s family..So sorry about her passing from this earth! She sounded so sweet loving and kind and smart, creative and active all of her life..She had no diseased which is remarkable and was close to you and your family, how wonderful, aloha and sending prayers.ciao!

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    Yes, that was a good life and a good passing. She knew she was ready to go and gave you enough signs that you could say goodbye and be prepared. Slipping peacefully away is a lovely way to go. I so appreciated my own mother’s peaceful passing at age 89. We all still miss her, but know she was ready to go.
    You will miss your mother too, but you will be at peace with her passing.

  15. Tom Sightings Says:

    Please accept my regrets. Seven children! She had what sounds like a near-perfect life.

  16. palolo Says:

    Live everyday like it’s your last. Keep making yourself happy with David, reading, eating, spending time with your family.

  17. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    My goodness, so your Mom was a world traveler. Very impressive. Not many women in her age cohort made long distance trips. My Aunt Rosie who passed away a few months ago and was about your Mom’s age, thought it was a big adventure when she traveled from Wisconsin to Georgia to visit us in the 1940s.

    I’m happy she had a good life and that you could see her the day she died. I think sometimes we just become tired of living and expire. Hopefully you inherited her genes. Take care. Thinking of you.

  18. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Hello, Gigi — I am so very, very sorry about your mom. Even when it is a live well and long-lived, there is still a grief and loss. I hope that movie you mentioned in your comment on the Gypsy cheered you but I suspect it will take a bit more than that.

    She sounds like a remarkable woman and I am so very glad that you and David were able to see her that day. You said all the wonderful right things and I know she heard.

  19. Kay G. Says:

    Oh, what a beautiful post in tribute of your dear mother! May she rest in peace.

  20. Linda Starr Says:

    sorry for your loss but as you say you passed peacefully and you are lucky you saw her that day

  21. Bella Rose Says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, Gigi.

  22. Musings Says:

    Oh wow! I’m so sorry. Im catching up with people today. Please accept our condolences. This has been such a difficult few months for so many of us. Your mom was a beautiful, adventurous woman and you look so much like her. I’m glad her passing was peaceful.

Leave a Reply

