A movie without sex and violence

This is a photo of Diamond Head that I took in 2007.  It has nothing to do with the essay below.  I just wanted something pretty to show you.

David and I drove to the Dole Theater on Tuesday to see “Cinderella” and when we got into the theater, we were amazed to see it filled with children.  We then realized that it was spring break for public schools, and they were taking advantage of it to see this movie.  Luckily, we managed to find two seats in the back, which we liked.

Oh, if you have a chance, do see “Cinderella.”  I think it will appeal to everyone, children and adults alike.  There is no raunchy sex or violence.  It is a fairy tale, after all.  I would never watch “Fifty Shades of Grey” and “American Sniper.”  Ugh.  Why waste my time?  So unpleasant, those movies would make me vomit.

Anyway, this was the first time in many years that I went to a movie theater.  Usually, I stay home while David goes alone.  He is definitely a movie buff.  I remember being in the theater and hating the 3-D movie we were watching.  I told David that the movie was boring and that we should leave.  He replied that he had paid for the tickets and he did not want to leave.  Boy, it was sheer torture for me.  I said I would never go to the theater again.

Hence, it is rather remarkable that I found “Cinderella” so enthralling.  There was never a dull moment, and I didn’t notice the time go by.

Lovely movie, lovely.  And, in my opinion, Prince Kit is eye candy.  I adored his blue eyes and wavy, black hair.  Be still, my heart!

11 Responses to “A movie without sex and violence”

  1. Olga Says:

    I agree, I have no interest whatsoever in seeing 50 Shades or American Sniper. But I do like movies and I think I will like Cinderella. Now that spring break is over, I may chance a trip to the theater.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have not been in a theatre in years. David would go in a heartbeat. I will share David’s solution with my David.

  3. DJan Says:

    I will definitely go see it, Gigi. But then, I love to go to the movies and have enjoyed the vast majority of them. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    Ok now I have to see this movie!

  5. Juicy_J Says:

    3d movies are the worst.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    I’m going to see American Sniper on Thursday evening while B goes to her book club. I guess that pretty much tells you who has the brains in our family!

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like to see important movies in theaters. We usually see movies that are nominated for Oscars in January and February, and then don’t go to many the rest of the year. We watch then at home instead, on cable or Smart TV internet.
    I’m glad you had a good experience at the theater.

  8. L....w Says:

    I wouldn’t mind seeing this movie either. Like you said, the pretty costumes, and eye candy. Now you’ve got me curious. I don’t like violence and sex in movies either. Real life is enough drama for me.

  9. scenenotspoken Says:

    I agree with your comments about some recent movies, Gigi, which is why we hardly go to the theatre except to see ones like Annie or Night at the Museum (1, 2, and 3). I definitely want to see Cinderella and appreciate your endorsement.

  10. granny annie Says:

    It is difficult for me to go to the movies now because I cannot click pause, fast forward or rewind.

  11. Bella Rose Says:

    I am with you on movie choices!

Leave a Reply

