Egg cooker

Lately, David has been feeling wistful about his childhood.  He said his parents had an egg cooker and ate eggs every morning.  He tried to cook eggs in a pot of water, but it took forever to boil and cook.  So, he went to Target.com and ordered an egg cooker for around $20.00:

Egg cooker 013-A

Do you know how an egg cooker works?  For boiled eggs, you pour some water in the cooker.  Then you prick the large end of each egg to prevent cracking and place the narrow end of the egg in the cooker.  The cooker can hold up to 6 eggs:

Egg cooker 006-A

The cooker steams the eggs and shuts off automatically when the water disappears:

Egg cooker 003-A

David said that next time, he will pour less water into the cooker and take the eggs out quicker so the eggs will be softer.  These eggs are too hard in his opinion:

Egg cooker 009-A

Egg cooker 010-A

Then, he wanted poached eggs.  He placed a raw egg in each compartment:

Egg cooker 007-A

The eggs were poached perfectly:

Egg cooker 011-A

This cooker can also make omelets:

Egg cooker 004-A

David loves eggs and has no problem at all with cholesterol.  He is so happy he has this egg cooker.  It reminds him of his Mom and Dad and his childhood.

12 Responses to “Egg cooker”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    I have an egg cooker but it is just plain grey and boring. I am so jealous of his pink one! How gorgeous that is! 😉

    I’m having an egg phase myself. 🙂

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The poached eggs look great. I cook soft boiled eggs almost every morning. I bring the water to a boil on a high setting, lower the temp of the burner and and gently drop the eggs into the water. Cook four minutes for a perfect egg…for us. Some people prefer a three minute egg.

    Eggs are perfect food and sadly for a long time doctors said we shouldn’t eat them if we developed chlosterol issues, but recently the medical profession reversed course and now says dietary chloresterol is not related to the kind your body produces.

    My David is almost 86 and has coffee, bacon, eggs and butter on toast almost every morning. He also eats bags of stuff ( like potato chips and pork rinds) which he keeps in his car. I stopped nagging him about his diet. David is Russian and German descent and will probably live to 100. It’s our genes that matter.

  3. DJan Says:

    It looks good to me. I’ll take a look at the egg cookers around here. And yes, that’s a pretty pink one, David! 🙂

  4. Grannymar Says:

    I love omelets and make them regularly on a pan. A meal or dessert in just a couple of minutes!

  5. L....w Says:

    I’m just thinking what a wonderful store Target is. Free shipping (no minimum purchase) and 5 percent discount with their Red Card. In-store, I like the fact that sales tax is charged AFTER all discounts (store coupons, cartwheels discounts, Red card, and even .05 bag discount), however tax is charged on manufacturer’s coupons and gift cards earned from their promotions. I began to look more closely how tax is charged because I have a problem with Costco’s in-store signs showing the after discount price on sale items without the additional tax you must pay (since tax is BEFORE the discount). I understand it is their right since the discount is probably a manufacturer’s but I think those signs are inaccurate and disingenuous.

  6. Christine Says:

    that looks like a neat device. I microwave an egg for one minute in a cup and get a scrambled egg for one.

  7. Olga Says:

    I can’t cook an egg to save my life. Maybe I should check into this…never heard of it before.

  8. Joanne Noragon Says:

    What a clever little device, and you cannot argue with David’s enjoyment.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have never heard of an egg cooker. I love eggs but only eat them once a week when we go out to breakfast. I do sometimes have them for dinner.

  10. Bella Rose Says:

    Love it!

  11. palolo Says:

    If David is happy Gigi should be happy too. Eggs are good if you burn off the calories.

  12. granny annie Says:

    If you can find some free range chicken eggs they will be much better for David’s health and yours. I enjoy my chicken’s eggs even though I have high cholesterol. They don’t hurt me and are actually good for me.

Leave a Reply

