Art, music, and Hawaii

Waikiki Beach outside the Royal Hawaiian Hotel, 2008.

Despite the stress of having my sister’s husband and my mother pass away within the week, I still manage to find peace and joy in art, music, and Hawaii.

On Sunday, David and I attended a Hawaii Symphony concert, which featured the Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3 and the Shoshtakovich Symphony No. 5.  Outstanding performance by conductor Victor Yampolsky and pianist Natasha Paremski!  We really liked our seats near the left aisle of the orchestra level, because we had a nice view of the piano keyboard and the pianist’s hands.  We will probably renew our season tickets.

During intermission, we went outdoors and chatted with friends.  Since it was only 5:00 p.m., the sun was shining and the weather was balmy.  Where else will you find such a beautiful setting outside a concert hall?  If I were in New York City or San Francisco, I would be standing amidst tall concrete buildings.  Whereas, here in Hawaii, I stood among coconut trees and grass.  Totally different scene.  How I love Hawaii!  There’s no place like it, believe me.  I have traveled the world, so I know what I am talking about.

Landscape in front of the Blaisdell Concert Hall, 2012:

2-13-11-1-blaisdell-A

Then there is art.  I have commissioned my dear friend, Flo Miyahira, to paint a still life, consisting of yellow daffodils in a vase.  As you know, I already have three of her paintings hanging in my home:  A garden scene, a lighthouse at sunset, and a painting of a white dog.  I told Flo to use her artistic imagination and surprise me.  As long as the subject is a vase of yellow daffodils, I will be happy.  So, let’s see what she comes up with.  I simply love her work so far, and I know she won’t disappoint me.

My friend Flo’s paintings, hanging in my home:

Flo's art 005-A

Flo's art 004-A

art exhibit 021-A

I’ll post a photo of her fourth painting (vase of yellow daffodils) when it arrives.

Art, music, and Hawaii:  They bring me peace and joy.

11 Responses to “Art, music, and Hawaii”

  1. DJan Says:

    You do have a good life in Hawaii, Gigi. I also love my own chosen home, the Pacific Northwest. Getting to play outside, even when it rains, has become an essential part of my own enjoyment of life. 🙂

  2. Grannymar Says:

    You seem to have a blissful life in Hawaii. Did I hear you had snow?

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Music is a magical, mystical balm.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    David, who is mad about Russian composers, would love attending this concert. Years ago, I attended a Marine Corps Ball at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel and it is indeed elegant and a good example of the beautiful architecture of a bygone era. I think its listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and thus protected from developers. At least I hope it is.

    When we have attended the Kennedy Center Opera House, here in Washington DC, for various productions, we have enjoyed the view from the Terrace restaurant at the top of the Kennedy Center.

    The view below is the tree-lined Potomac River. Upstream is my Alma Mata Georgetown University, with the library towering near the river. Downstream is the city center (and about to burst into bloom with flowering trees).

    Often crew teams are out on the river practicing their strokes.

    Across the river is Roosevelt Island a natural habitat filled with local flora and fauna in honor of Teddy, the conservation-minded president. Beyond the island, tall buildings in Roslyn VA (near our house) rise in splendor. We think the view is spectacular. To each his own I suppose.

  5. Anna of the Mutton Years Says:

    Hello, you are so lucky living there. The last time i heard formal music performed was at the Royal Albert Hall. we took the children when they were young to see Showboat there. It was magical. Gorgeous pictures that your friend Flo paints. I guess she makes a living from painting:)

  6. Christine Says:

    sounds fun at the concert. You must be so excited to see the new painting!

  7. L....w Says:

    I really like the intense colors of the paintings. I imagine these would liven any room it resides in. The paintings invite faraway thoughts…even as seen through the lens of a camera. I find the camera doesn’t lie…and use my kindle fire photo app to help me adjust design flaws in my crochet and beading designs.

  8. Olga Says:

    Peace and joy, and anything that brings them, are true treasures.

  9. scenenotspoken Says:

    Music and art are great enjoyments of life, Gigi, and to those I would also add reading, which is one of my favorite pastimes along with walking outdoors.

Leave a Reply

