Writing cursive

I watched my 7 year old granddaughter, Julia, on Friday, because teachers had a special meeting.  I asked her if she knew how to write cursive.  She said her mother had taught her how to sign her name.  I wrote a few words and told her to trace them and then write them independently.

Here she is, practicing her cursive writing:

Julia-cursive writing 004-A

As you can tell, she needs to work on her “r” as it looks like an “n.”  The small “s” also needs to be corrected.  She needs help with her spelling, too:

Julia-cursive writing 009-A

Do you remember learning how to write cursive in elementary school?  I remember my third grade teacher holding up my paper and commenting to the class how beautiful my penmanship was.  I was so proud.

Presently, my handwriting is very poor.  Even David has a hard time deciphering my grocery list.

How is your cursive writing?

14 Responses to “Writing cursive”

  1. Cathy Says:

    When I was at school in England we used to call that way of writing ‘double writing or joined up writing.
    What age do they start teaching them to write that way in your schools Gigi. There used to be books to show the correct way to form the letters – do they still have them?

  2. DJan Says:

    I understand most schools are no longer teaching cursive writing. There are some kids who can’t read it at all! I think for the most part Julia’s writing is quite well done. 🙂

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    although I have arthritis in my hand, I am working on my signature. The grocery list is another matter. My sister announced this year she would no longer mail cards at Christmas because her hand writing is so bad. I am also curtailing the cards to birthdays only.

    Cursive is important and my grandkids say they know kids who can’t sign their names. Anyone who wants to do history research better learn cursive because all the old records use it.

  4. Olga Says:

    I can still pull out the Palmer method cursive and do presentable writing if need be, but for my own purposes my handwriting is pretty sloppy now. And I mostly use the keyboard, which is why I think they don’t bother with teaching cursive writing anymore. It will become a nostalgia/hobby thing in the future. This is a fortunate thing for my grandson who can barely print with pencil or pen. Julia’s writing looks very good to me!

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Good for Julia. Tell her from a Buckeye that Ohio is round on both ends and high in the middle. She’ll like that.
    My never decent cursive is not reduced to printing so the reader can understand the written.

  6. Christine Says:

    my handwriting is awful these days, I think from too much typing on the computer.

  7. dkzody Says:

    Cursive writing is not taught in most schools now. There is not enough time to teach it along with all the other things they have to cover.

    Many of the high school students I taught could NOT read my cursive writing and I have beautiful handwriting, especially on a white board, or chalk board, or black board. They had never been taught how to write or read cursive.

    The first graders with whom I work now cannot read anything but block printing, which isn’t’ too surprising, given their your age.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Cursive writing is becoming a thing of the past. I still write by hand for notes and reminders, but for anything more I use the keyboard. My handwriting was never great, but now it can get pretty sloppy.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    I wonder if all the cell towers are down and electronics are knocked out for years what folks will do without texting, how will they communicate and leave information for future generations, how will they add and subtract without a calculator.

    My cursive is excellent, it must have been all those black and white composition books where I had to practice over and over again each letter of the alphabet.

    I am amazed at some of the comments here, that students cannot read or write cursive. even my trip to the ER a week or so ago the doc typed into the computer his notes and orders. I remember working in a hospital and trying to read the doctors order, not that’s some terribly illegible cursive which we all joked about at the time.

  10. Musings Says:

    Because I use the computer so much my handwriting has really deteriorated. I know they’re dropping handwriting from the curriculum these days. They used to teach cursive in 3rd.

  11. granny annie Says:

    I love it when you share your experiences with your grandchildren! I have poor handwriting and do most of my correspondence on the computer. It is my understanding that cursive writing is becoming a thing of the past as students are encouraged to print.

  12. scenenotspoken Says:

    Hope that Julia continues with her cursive handwriting. While I have electronic devices that will allow me to enter information, I still prefer handwriting notes and reminders. And, of course, there is nothing better than handwriting a note to a friend.

Leave a Reply

