Live and learn

I recently took advantage of the 20% discount on SAS shoes at Macy’s.  Not bad, since SAS shoes rarely go on sale.

These shoes fit perfectly and are soft and pliable:

shoes, plants 002-A

These shoes, on the other hand, cause blisters where the stiff leather rubs against the skin.  I am absolutely heartbroken, because these shoes are so pretty.  Unfortunately, I can’t get a refund, as they have already been worn outdoors:

shoes, plants 006-A

Ah, well, live and learn.  Sometimes, bad things happen to good people.  Lol.

Moving on, I must show you this anthurium plant that sits on my glass coffee table.  The flowers have died and been removed, but the leaves seem to be thriving.  I love the heart-shaped leaves.  My friend, Flo, advised me to fertilize the plant with anthurium pellets, so flowers will bloom again:

shoes, plants 010-A

And, I am happy to report that my crotons are doing just fine in my planter box.  They look healthy, don’t they?  David waters them every other day, and they like getting the afternoon sun while sitting under the eaves of the house.  So far, I have not had to fertilize them.  Eventually, the green leaves will turn orange and red:

crotons 001-A

Have a great day!

15 Responses to “Live and learn”

  1. DJan Says:

    That is unfortunate about those shoes. I have been there, too, with shoes that looked perfect until I wore them! 🙂

  2. Olga Hebert Says:

    Such a disappointment when new shoes don’t work out!

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I hate it when things don’t fit. I am fortunate because when I have that problem either my daughter or one of her four daughters can wear it.

  4. mageb Says:

    Yes, so sorry about the shoes. Especially when shoes hurt. Lovely plants.

  5. Christine Says:

    I am a victim of buying some clothes and shoes I never end up wearing. I finally figured out my style is casual comfortable and will try to stick to those kinds of clothes and shoes. Your crotons look beautiful.

  6. De Says:

    I believe Macy’s will take them back even if you wore them. I’ve never returned worn shoes but I heard their policy is they take back everything. Explain you wore them outside but they give you blisters.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Nothing ventured, nothing gained, take back the shoes.Give it a try, the worst they can say is NO!

  8. Linda Says:

    SAS is a wonderful company. Send them an email explaining what happened and they might have a solution.

  9. L....w Says:

    I can vouch for Macy’s good return policy too. Returned a convection oven because the door didn’t close tightly (left a gap and warm air leaked.) This was so long ago, but I think their policy was within 6 months, something about the sales record still in their system. Similar to Costco….I opened and took a Kirkland brand aspirin, even threw away the box, and found out he aspirin didn’t relieve my fever at all. I debated what to do since I used the product . I decided to return it because Costco should hear that their product doesn’t work! No problem, I couldn’t finish my defense, they just said that’s fine…husband had to cut me off and said no one wants to hear all the details.

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    I have trouble getting comfortable sandals to wear. I badly need some for the summer. Your plants are lovely!

  11. ~L. Says:

    Try returning them. If for some reason you keep them maybe you could try going to the foot products in Longs to get some drscholls molefoam padding, or something appropriate to pads the problem area. You can cut it to fit the area you need padded and stick it to your shoe.

  12. gigihawaii Says:

    Well, thanks folks for your input.
    I went to Macy’s today and managed to get a refund for those shoes.

  13. L....w Says:

    Great, gigi! No harm done. I think businesses should hear when their product is unsatisfactory, which means you had to actually use it. Returning an item unused means you changed your mind about buying the product and does not mean dissatisfaction. You hear stories about abusers who take advantage of a liberal return policy and why some stores refuse to accept a product that they cannot resell. To me, a good store return policy means the store is willing to take a slight loss for long term good.

Leave a Reply

