Plans for two funerals

canoe-paddlers-at-sunset-a

Sunset in Hawaii.

A Celebration of Life for my sister’s husband is set for April 12, and a funeral for my mother is set for April 13.

Friends and relatives are coming from all over the world to attend these two events.  For example, my nephew will come from Bali, Pete’s friend will come from Australia, and my youngest sister will come from Virginia.  She will be staying with me for a week and will be using Lisa’s bedroom, while Lisa stays with Maria.  It will be wonderful to see these and other people again.

I have been working on my eulogy for Mom.  I hope it goes well, and I hope I don’t get too nervous speaking on the podium.

On April 1, David’s slipper got caught on a step at the gym and he stubbed his toe on the metal strip.  He went to the ER and had seven stitches to close the gash.  Hopefully, the stitches will be removed on April 10.  If not, he will have to wear rubber slippers to the two funerals.  Ugh.

The family requests aloha attire, so I intend to wear my muumuu, and David is going to wear an aloha shirt.

And, of course, food will be served.

It should be a fine send-off for Pete and Mom, as we bid a fond farewell to them.

11 Responses to “Plans for two funerals”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Celebrate the good times, and enjoy the visitors.

  2. Cathy Says:

    I’m sure there will be music as well 🙂

  3. Jan Says:

    Oh, ouch! seven stitches is a lot, David. I hope you will heal up just fine so you can wear regular shoes to the funerals. Such a hard time to have gotten injured. Of course, there’s never a good time. 🙂

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Planning these events is difficult. Hope all goes well. We transported Mom’s body back to NC in 1972, where she was buried, and Dad (d.1992) is buried with his second wife. Too sad.

  5. Christine Says:

    it is not the best reason for a family gathering, but so be it. Sorry to hear about David’s toe. Glad nothing was broken.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your mother’s passing and also your brother-iin-law. To hear about David’s toe, hopefully it will heal quickly. These funerals are bittersweet occasions. My deepest condolences to you and your family.

  7. L....w Says:

    Gigi, I’m sad for the loss of your loved ones….also shocking that your brother in law died so young. I read his obituary in the Star Advertiser and he was definitely a dynamic achiever in every sense of the word. His loss will be felt in many corners of society. Your mom lived a healthy long life, I suspect that she was ahead of her time in many respects too.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    It sounds like you will be having a wonderful celebration of life for these two loved ones.

  9. Olga Says:

    Family and friends gathering to celebrate lives and remember takes some of the sting out of loss. I am sure there will be many, many memories for your mom and your brother-in-law.

  10. mmmm Says:

    Aloha and peace to you! I live by a huge funeral business with acres of land, used to attend a church service there when my little one was a baby, I learned a lot about the funeral business, the average cost here is well over $17,000 who has that kind of money for a funeral let alone two funerals..I think one has to honor the deceased while they are alive and happy to boot..I like the fact that you and your husband will be wearing Hawaiian clothes..I hope your funerals are peaceful and respectful of the decedents..Sorry about your husband hurting himself, situations involving funerals sometimes cause people to be not as attentive, we buried my mil who was nearly 90 right before Christmas in 2000 it was bitter cold and snowing at the jewish cemetery, the lady rabbi was wonderful..It was a peaceful day, her oldest daughter had a feast waiting at her home, only few could attend as it was too snowy and too cold. sad, she cooked for days, but at least the people who were closest to her Mother were there..ciao

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I think it is quite wonderful that you were able to hold the two funerals at the same time so many could attend. I know this must has been and will be a very busy week for you. I hope all went well and that David’s stitches were out in time!

Leave a Reply

