Peace and serenity

kayaking-1a.jpg

Island of Molokai.

Because of the recent deaths in my family, I have been pondering my own future.  Is there anything left on my bucket list?  The answer is No.  I already have done everything. For example:

  1. Wife, mother, grandmother
  2. Homeowner
  3. World traveler
  4. Published author
  5. Radio commentator
  6. Teacher
  7. Musician
  8. College graduate

All I want to do now is maintain the status quo and not squander the rest of my life on things that don’t matter.

I believe that the time of my death is pre-ordained, and no matter how much I diet and exercise, I can’t escape my fate or prolong my life in any way.  This concept is a relief for me, as I can now focus on enjoying the remaining years of my life.

I have made mistakes in the past, but all in all, the results of these mistakes have been beneficial.  For instance, if it weren’t for my affair with R, I would not have traveled around the world.  And if it weren’t for my affair with P, I would not have given birth to Maria.  Without Maria, I would not have my granddaughter, Julia, and my grandson, Rylan.

Looking back on my life, I have no regrets.  All I want now is peace and serenity.

12 Responses to “Peace and serenity”

  1. Olga Says:

    And you have certainly earned the right to life on your terms!

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi, one of the things I most admire about you is your candor and honesty in sharing your thoughts. While I do also believe that the timing and circumstances of death may well be pre-ordained, striving to keep ourselves in good health and to avoid obvious dangers still seem like good things to do, whenever possible.
    Happy Easter to you & your family.

  3. Jan Says:

    It sounds like a good life, but you are far from done, Gigi! Listen to your elders, like me! I’m still learning new things. 🙂

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good for you Gigi. I feel much the same way. We cannot change the past and probably wouldn’t wish to do so for most things. Good to celebrate living.

  5. L....w Says:

    I have noticed many people dying in their 50s and 60s….so sad and makes me aware of my own mortality. That is one reason we have decided to retire at the end of this year, at least physically and a bit earlier than planned. I want to do the things I enjoy, I don’t know how long I have to live (despite my best efforts I agree with you that it’s predetermined, and I have health issues that are debilitating), financially we’ll probably not outlive our savings at the rate we spend (purposely living simply), so why not take it easy sooner rather than later? Acquisitions mean so little to me at this point, time to squander as I please is golden.

  6. wafan Says:

    GG, I am sorry to learn of the passing of you mom. She was a sweetheart at Damien. Prayers and positive thoughts for you and your family.

  7. Christine Says:

    I enjoyed reading your reflections on life at this stage.

  8. palolo Says:

    Wow. You should write another novel on your life. You have seen the world, lived the life and now you should share your experiences with the readers that love to follow your blog. Thank you Gigi.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    I too am trying to keep the status quo but I still have travel on my to do list, perhaps some day soon. So sorry about the recent deaths in your family trying times to deal with be kind to yourself and your family. Those soft sandles look great do they have arch support? I once had plantar fasciitis and have to be careful what I wear.

  10. mmmm Says:

    I so agree with your comments that one is predetermined in the death spector..I have never understood people putting off doing this and that, my aunt scrimped and saved and never went anywhere until she reached middle sixties of her life, no children many husbands and lots of money we always heard from relatives be nice to her she will leave you an inheritance, there is no more frugal person in this world than my mothers only sister she is nearing 100 and is still pretty active and obstreperous to boot, she saved every dime she had and made me realize young that money and wealth are not the way to go, she has traveled all over the earth but no one in my family really cares for her and voices it a lot, except for those who think if they are nice to her they will get something in her will, well I will tell you they will not, she is leaving her loot to a Buddhist place and the poor she has helped since joining Buddhism..I am kind and loving, in honor of my own late Mom who left this earth extremely early, my Aunt was the young sister and not favored by my Grandmother who preferred my Mom and so did the great grandmother, my aunt suffered a lot, I understoord her a lot..I have always been kind and loving figuring she had really no one and many deceived and used her, but she is no FOOL and smart as can be I learned plenty to live but I always felt she had to fight the good fight alone and tried to be kind and loving when I lived in the same city as her..I treated her well, she is my kin no matter what..happy Passover to you!

  11. Suzanne Says:

    So sorry to hear about the news. I recently started thinking about my own bucket list. I think I would like to see a few more places in my lifetime but I am happy with the amount of things I have done so far.

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I couldn’t agree more — yes, I, too, have no regrets. I’d like to be around a long while and there are a few places I’d like to travel, but life has been very good. No complaints. I hope to enjoy it a lot longer but should something happen, there’s no unfinished business. That’s a very good thing.

    I know this must be a challenging year — so many losses and that first holiday or celebration is a little extra hard. Sending hugs.

Leave a Reply

