Crime

marigolds-3-a1

Marigolds in my patio (Hawaii).

Crime in New York City got to me.  I was in the bedroom when I heard the sound of my dining table being dragged.  Dashing into the living room, I saw a man reach through the barred window, grab my purse, and run up the fire escape.  I couldn’t believe anyone could be so daring.  The police came and found my purse in a trash can, my money gone.  My apartment was broken into on two other occasions.  The final blow came on a pay day when a man whipped out a gun and robbed me in an elevator.

That incident broke my will to remain in New York.  After seven adventurous, romantic, and risk-taking years abroad (living in California, Thailand, Europe and New York), I was tired and homesick.  In all those years away, I’d vacationed in Hawaii for only a week.  My parents had begged me to return for good, but I’d told them I wasn’t ready.  Now, I was.

Moving back to Hawaii, I was immediately surrounded by friends and relatives — making me wonder why I ever left.  Having lived and worked around the world, I can truly say Hawaii is the best place to live.

However, there is crime in Hawaii, also.  One night, a concert I attended ended late.  The buses had stopped running so I started walking to my parents’ home.  As soon as I turned the corner to my street, I heard running footsteps.  Then I felt an arm around my waist and a hand on my mouth.  I screamed loudly and shrilly.  Startled, the man dropped his hands and took off down the street.  I was afraid he’d circle the block and attack me again, so I hurried to the nearest house and asked if I could call my father.  After telling Dad about the assault and how afraid I was to walk the short distance to our home, he picked me up in his car.

Women who have never been victimized might not share my occasional feelings of paranoia and insecurity.  But it certainly helps to be married to a tall, brawny man and I haven’t been robbed or assaulted since our marriage.  I feel safe with David.

11 Responses to “Crime”

  1. Olga Says:

    Bad things can happen anywhere. It is good to be aware of one’s surroundings…and hang around with a big guy.

  2. Christine Says:

    What horrible experiences, so glad you survived it all.

  3. Jan Says:

    I had my car broken into while I wasn’t in it, and I’ve accidentally left my purse in restaurants, only to find it gone when I returned. But nothing has ever happened to me like you describe (knock wood).

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I was grabbed near Union Street Station when I had been working late in the area and was walking down the road. It happened so quickly but I got away. I turned on a dime and hit him with my rolled up umbrella, out of fight or flight instinct. I think my return attack startled him and he ran off but afterwards I was so thankful that it turned out well as he could have had a gun. I could not stop shaking thinking about it and was a nervous wreck for months. I never walked alone after that no matter how short the distance. This happened shortly after I had moved from a small village in England where nothing ever happened, to a big city in a different country. A lesson learned!

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I had some similar experiences in the big city of Cleveland, Ohio, in college. I learned things about staying safe that have served me all these years.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I live in the heart of the DC Metro area, and worked and attended school in DC (night and day) for many years. I have also enjoyed the first class night life here in the city, attending events at several theaters (I had season tickets to five area theaters at one point, plus season tickets to the Ballet and Opera at the Kennedy Center. Mercifully no one has ever tried to grab me. Maybe I look invulnerable?

    I’ve read that criminals choose their victims carefully, I’ve also read that criminals are often stupid. Whether you become a victim of crime must be a matter of chance. However, there are things you can do to protect yourself from crime.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have so far not been the victim of a crime, but crime is certainly around me. My neighbor’s house was broken into last week. It does make we worry a bit.
    You have had some very bad situations.

  8. palolo Says:

    My house was robbed two years ago. I have been careful ever since. I could use a “David” to live in my house.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    Well, men can be victims of crime, too, so be careful. But I think the key to feeling safe and secure is to be “surrounded by friends and relatives.”

  10. L....w Says:

    You’ve experienced some close calls. We’ve been victims of burglary…4 x in the past twenty five years. I often worry about being physically assaulted, in random violence, I don’t think I will be able to react quickly enough to defend myself.

  11. mmmm Says:

    Actually our only lives in new York city, we visit often it seems safer than seattle where she used to live, we live at the end of the state of Washington near the Columbia river near Portland, Oregon, we see crime edging up like crazy due to people thinking they can find work, food, homes etc. here, THEY CANNOT, THEY NEED TO KEEP TRAVELLING TO SEATTLE WHERE THE MINIMUM WAGE IS NEARLY $15.00 A COMPANY IS GIVING THEIR EMPLOYEES RAISES TO $70,000 a year grandfathering it in 3 years but raising the minimum to $50,000 immediately.even at that rate no one can buy a home in seattle on $50,000 a year up there but one can if their mate/partner works for the same firm $100,000 will get you in the door of a house built in 1948..Houses are not as expensive as where you live, the most of any state in the USA and food in Hawaii is enormous, we had friends who retired there but sold their home when they realized they would have to work 2 jobs in Hawaii to buy food at Costco they moved back here in our small town, but miss the juju as they call it of Hawaii, the people, the ocean, the fish & the camaradie of family and friends, it makes people want to live to 99 like your Mother did, it is a fact people live a lot longer in Hawaii than any other place in the USA now if we could figure out how to make enough for food we would sell and move there, only if we had a place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

