Conversations with David

David

David in his thirties.

David came into the house after cleaning the gutter.
David:  There was a lot of dirt in the gutter.
Me:  How did dirt get into the gutter?
David:  It came from the roof.
Me:  How did dirt get on the roof?
David:  I don’t know.  I am not God.  God made the dirt.

*   *   *

David made the coffee this morning.
Me:  Why do you put in heaping tablespoons of coffee?  You should level them.
David:  I like my coffee strong.
Me:  Well, it would taste better if you measured the coffee properly.
David:  Hmm.  Maybe I should make it with milk.
Me:  What?  You want to pour milk into the coffee maker?
David:  No!  You fool!  I meant mix milk with my oatmeal.
Me:  That was a non sequitur.  We were talking about coffee, not oatmeal!

*   *   *

Hard to believe, but we have been married for almost 35 years.

10 Responses to “Conversations with David”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    Two conversations that make me smile. Have a great day Gigi.

  2. Jan Says:

    Me, too! Made me smile, too. I like your conversation technique. 🙂

  3. Tom Sightings Says:

    Tracy and Hepburn, all over again!

  4. Christine Says:

    and enjoying each other’s company! lol.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You sound like we do. David is also hard of hearing and can’t remember anything for 2 minutes. Good luck.

  6. dkzody Says:

    That would have been the reverse conversation in our house. My mind races on to the next thing, I leave off one topic of conversation and say the next thing that comes into my mind, leaving poor Terry in the dust. However, neither of us would call the other a fool. That would have hurt my feelings.

    As for the dirt, it’s everywhere here. So dusty due to little or no rain, lots of wind, and so few people watering their yards. I just finished dusting the whole house and I know it will need it again in a few days. I hate to dust.

  7. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I do believe raindrops must form around dust.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Sounds pretty normal to me!

  9. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Seems that we are not so unique in our own conversations because many times we are each talking about a different subject before realizing it…then we have a good laugh (usually).

  10. L....w Says:

    Sounds exactly like our conversations. I’m not making myself clear (to him) and speaking ahead of the conversation. Both husband and daughter say I don’t listen to what they are saying and put words in their mouth. I already know what they are going to say and I’m talking about the next point. When you live with the same person so long…it happens.

Leave a Reply

