Time for a picnic

ala moana-may 22-1-A

Hawaii at sunset.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

Looking at this picture, I feel nostalgic.  It conjures up memories of the many picnics my family and I enjoyed at Ala Moana Beach Park during my childhood and the early years of my marriage.

Halmoni (Korean for grandmother) would gather her children and grandchildren at the park.  Uncle Hung Soo barbecued on the hibachi the kalbi and pulkogi that Halmoni had marinated and massaged in shoyu, sugar, sesame oil, garlic, ginger, and green onions that morning.  As soon as the first batch was cooked and thrown into a large pot, I helped myself to it, loving every morsel of the charbroiled, tender slices of meat.  Yum!  Add to that Aunty Helen’s famous potato salad, my mother’s cucumber kimchi as well as other potluck foods, and we all indulged ourselves in this feast.

Memories!

After David and I got married, we often picnicked at Magic Island in the late afternoon.  We barbecued teri-chicken on the hibachi and ate it with my own potato salad and tossed vegetables, while sitting on a beach mat, facing the setting sun.

So, here we are, many years later.  I can’t even remember our last picnic; it was so long ago.  I miss the tangy, salty air that whetted my appetite…the sound of the waves rolling in and out…the crackle and sizzle of beef being barbecued on the hibachi…

It’s time for another picnic!

10 Responses to “Time for a picnic”

  1. Olga Says:

    I would say it is time. Get out there and enjoy. Make some new memories.

  2. Jan Says:

    Yes, it does sound like it’s time for a picnic. And take pictures for those of us who aren’t in Hawaii. 🙂

  3. Alan Says:

    A little excursion with the grandchildren perhaps?

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    These conjure great memories for you and for me. My family and I always took a picnic along on our Sunday Drives. Gregg and I go for picnics up in the Shenandoahs. We haven’t been on one yet this year but are looking forward to it now that the weather is getting warmer.

  5. Christine Says:

    it is time, the food sounds delicious, what wonderful memories!

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I ate much hibachi cook food for years. Now I take med for Acid reflux and a leaky bile valve. I eat very little meat anymore, no matter how tasty.

    You have lovely memories of your family. We had to travel far to see our grandparents.

  7. dkzody Says:

    Mmmm. That all sounds so good. Sounds like it’s time for a beach picnic. Terry and I just enjoyed a picnic lunch in Yosemite Valley while watching Yosemite Falls and looking at Half Dome.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Picnics can be simple and impromptu. We had a “picnic” Tuesday when we took our lunch with us and ate it on a bench before going on our walk out into the river delta. It wasn’t special food, just what we would have eaten at home.
    Go and do, Gigi.

  9. mmmm Says:

    Oh, my goodness sakes, we go to the beach here in Washington state most times it rains but we sit out under a place and bbq some fish we catch or people bring in their huge motorhomes, nicer than our tiny house..but we don’t care, I make my famous spud salad, my best friend from kindergarten makes a wicked good shrimp salad and a fellow from first grade makes the bread in a cast iron skillet better than one can ever get in a bakery..We yak and yak until nearly midnight and then go to sleep under the stars, warmest winter really no winter since they started weather keeping in Washington state, we are in a big drought and the soothing sounds of the waves is wonderful since there was no rain, snow and not much hail either, aloha to you, get out and enjoy yourself, life is to be appreciated over and over again, in peace joy and happiness, aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. palolo Says:

    Early in the morning cook and perpare your potato salad, marinate your teri chicken and go to Kmart. Buy a small barbecue grill and charcoal. Tell David “lets go Ala Moana Magic Island”.

Leave a Reply

