Racial diversity and acceptance

caricature-1-a

Caricature of David and me in 1979.

wedding-a.jpg

David and I on our wedding day in 1980.

A lot has been made of Barack Obama’s racial heritage, half-African and half-white.  Perhaps, that is understandable to some people.  But when I see our President, I don’t see a black man making history.  I see a Hawaii-born-and-raised kamaaina, someone who fits in everywhere, because he knows all about racial diversity and acceptance.

I feel that way about myself.  Although a Korean married to a haole, I have never experienced racial discrimination in Hawaii or in any of the many places I have lived in or visited (the mainland, Canada, Asia and Europe).  It’s too bad others have not been as fortunate.

Minorities constitute the majority in Hawaii.  When one walks downtown, one sees a mass of Asians on the street.  Naturally, growing up in this environment, I never felt like an odd-ball.  Living on the mainland, then in Asia, and then Europe, I carried this feeling wherever I went.  It just never occurred to me that I was supposed to feel different or inferior because of my race.

My hapa-haole children also fit in everywhere.  Maria has spent a summer in Korea, two weeks in Japan, and a year in California, while Lisa has traveled through Europe and the mainland extensively.  Although bi-racial, they look haole to me, but for some reason, all of their friends are Asian.  They have the best of both worlds.

xmas 2011-8-A-sisters

Maria and Lisa, half-white, half-Korean (2011).

And my darling grandchildren, how I love them!  They are 3/4 Asian and 1/4 white.  What a beautiful family!

Kahala Nui 005-A

Top:  Grant and Maria.  Bottom:  Julia and Rylan.  (2014)

13 Responses to “Racial diversity and acceptance”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I am finally getting round to your blog, Lovely photos.

  2. Jan Says:

    Beautiful pictures, and yes you have really beautiful children and grandchildren. You are very fortunate indeed. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    Lovely family, you are blessed!

  4. Olga Says:

    you have much to be thankful for

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    My 20-something son has had 3 girlfriends so far. The first was half Asian, half white; the other two were Asian. (American, really, but of Asian ancestry). Unfortunately, all three times they broke up. Dunno if there was any pressure from girls’ parents; but I know I was just happy he had a girlfriend. We’ll see what’s next.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    At times, the new generation of kids appears much more accepting of diversity than some of the older folks. But appearances can be deceiving.

    My son (whose father was mixed race) is married to a gal from CA who never thought of herself as anything but American, although her grand-parents came from Mexico and Spain.

    Although he’s mostly Scots and German descent, my oldest grandson thinks he’s Hispanic. His girl cousins on the other side are multi-ethnic…Black, Hispanic, German, etc. and think of themselves as Chicana which I think influenced Jacob’s thinking.

    My granddaughters have dated different boys, some white some not. For example, Hannah’s first beau was Egyptian, the last beau was from Mexico. The new boy is a red head from England.

    Who knows what of whom they will finally choose? I just don’t want any of them to choose a MCP.

    After a while, perhaps all of us will get over this classification business, which isn’t real anyway.

  7. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I was raised to see people, not race. I find my prejudice is against stupid people.

  8. mmmm Says:

    Geez, I have never given much thought to races, I am half Spanish and half german, but my hubs is Scandinavian and Sephardic jewish, his dad joined the jewish faith to marry my late mother in law, they never got divorced had 8 kids and he never was around or parented his kids, I thought that terrible..I like President Obama immensely so smart and warm and kind!!!!!!!!! His wife is right on as far as I am concerned, smart, classy and loving too…I always say it is not your color and looks but your peaceful heart and soul..My friends lived while their dad was a marine in Hawaii, they are cherished friends, they explained they were really a minority but not really as they loved and cared about all people, I think that the way one should live their life, Your children and grandchildren are lovely & beautiful inside and out that is what counts in my book, your blog is lovely and informative, you are a peaceful loving and wise soul on this earth, one can learn so much from reading your blog…I only wish we could afford to live on any of the Hawaiian islands, people live longer and happier but we would starve and not have enough for a hut so to speak..aloha and happy days and peaceful days to you and your lovely hubs and family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. dkzody Says:

    That caricature is just wonderful.

  10. Kay G. Says:

    I just see good looking people!
    And I also love that caricature. I have never had the nerve to get one done, I have too many features that don’t need any more exaggeration! LOL!

  11. mmmm Says:

    It is sunday here aloha from this tiny Washington state town, we are going to the shore in a minute, my friend is full blooded samoan and her hubs too, they drive a prius and we go with them to the shore to meet and be with friends since kindergarten can you imagine? we eat foods from the sea, yak until we nearly drop, listen to music from the 60’s and walk and walk and walk, most come in motorhomes nicer than our tiny house we sometimes sleep in those luxurious homes, we have a hoot, some are widows and some widowers yet we are only 67 years young, we feel life is precious and no one can judge another’s heart and soul, all peaceful loving human beings, many bring their dogs I get to walk and fuss over we have kitteh cats and I pay a girl learning to be a veterinarian to watch our 2 older kitteh cats, she adores them..I think one has to have an open heart & mind to live a good life, really, aloha to you in Hawaii, have a wonderful and peaceful week, I know we will, we just got some local strawberries for some strawberry shortcakes I am baking at this very minute, aloha, peace and happiness always!

  12. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Growing up in a racially diverse city in NJ, I never gave any thought to issues of race. Unforunately, racial riots in the mid 60s in my hometown affected the city in negative ways.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I think and hope that the world is becoming more accepting of people who aren’t like them. Not even tolerant — but accepting. There is a difference. That we can all be together. My parents moved so I would be in a mixed-race school district and I think it was the best thing they ever did for me. I learned that race, economic status and so many other things don’t matter if the people are good people. And there are good and not-so-good across the board. A lovely post — your blended family is the family of the future, I suspect, and hope.

Leave a Reply

