Party for Leah

We congregated at my home on Saturday to greet my sister Lucille’s daughter, Leah, who is a nurse on the mainland.  It was very nice to see her, because she rarely visits us in Hawaii.

My niece, Leah (click on the photos to enlarge them):

Leah 002-A

Leah, Charles, Asia, Kanani, Maria, and Grant (note the potluck buffet):

Leah 004-A

Nedra, Asia, and David:

Leah 007-A

Some of us sat or lay on the carpet to watch the Mayweather-Pacquiao boxing match.  I personally did not want to show this fight, because I am against violence and dislike seeing men punch each other.  However, I was over ruled when guests donated $90.00 to David in order to pay for the TV show:

Leah 009-A

Mayweather won the fight, while Pat and I conversed quietly about a PBS series regarding King Henry VIII and Cromwell (she hates boxing as much as I do):

Leah 010-A

Me, Nedra, Pat, Leah, and Sylvia:

Leah 011-A

Asia, Charles, Leah, and Maria:

Leah 013-A

Charles with my grandkids, Julia and Rylan:

Leah 015-A

I love to photograph my family parties.  Who knows, one of us will die in the near future, and these pictures might be the last ones of the decedent.

Besides the boxing match, we watched a 1989 video of the family, which was a lot of fun, as we saw how we looked many years ago.

Time flies, doesn’t it?

8 Responses to “Party for Leah”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    Was it Wolf Hall? I have been enjoying that. 🙂

  2. Jan Says:

    I sure thought that boxing match was overhyped, but I hope those who watched it enjoyed it. I am with you on that front, Gigi. I would never had paid anything to watch two men punch each other! 🙂

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Old videos of the family are fun and so convenient. I remember family gatherings where someone said “let’s watch the old movies,” and it involved the screen, the projector, the rolls of 16mm film and children all over the floor, watching.

  4. Christine Says:

    a wonderful gathering, my husband tried to watch that fight but didn’t want to pay for it.

  5. Olga Says:

    I have no interest in boxing whatsoever. I am with you on that. Your house is lovely…A beautiful place to host family celebrations.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Family get-togethers can be fun, though often stressful. I haven’t watched the series on PBS. Frankly, I’m tired of Henry.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    Looks like a great party. I agree with Olga, your home is lovely. I am not a fan of boxing either. I have watched the show you mentioned. The acting is excellent.

Leave a Reply

