Seasick?

Here I am on a friend’s 27-foot sailboat in 1975, sailing between the Hawaiian Islands. Although it should have been thrilling, I was absolutely too seasick to enjoy the trip. Dramamine had no effect on me. Most of the time, I lay on the deck, tethered to the railing and wearing a life vest, watching the waves soaring above our little boat:

boat-1-a

Relieved to walk on land, I posed for this picture in Lahaina, Maui:

boat-2-a

(Sorry the photos above are so faded, but I am too lazy to rescan them and adjust the color in Photoshop.  The photos below are better, because they are relatively recent and were taken with a digital camera.)

We also visited Lanai, gorging on the pineapples we swiped from the plantation. Unfortunately, Molokai was not accessible because of the rocky shore, so we stayed on board and enjoyed the scenery from afar.

Since that journey, I have sailed on a catamaran, submarine, motor boat, ferry, kayak, and the Navatek with no dizziness or nausea. However, I did feel a little queasy on the Mighty Mo, docked at Pearl Harbor. Go figure!

Ferry, which took us down the Sumida River in Tokyo, Japan (2008):

tokyo-river-boat-a

Inside the Atlantis Submarine in the Pacific Ocean (2007):

Looking through our window:

Mighty Mo, docked in Pearl Harbor (2008):

missouri-up-close-a

Being a Capricorn, I guess I am earth-bound.  David is a Pisces, so he loves the water.  Haha.  Just kidding!

7 Responses to “Seasick?”

  1. Jan Says:

    I have never suffered from seasickness, but I do know it’s no fun. I wonder why some people get it and others don’t.

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    We visited the Mighty Mo on its way to Vietnam in 1968. I got sick on a life raft once. I don’t do water very well. The sub trip looks like fun. You have such great fish in the Hawaiian islands.

  3. Christine Says:

    nice photos! Well at least you are not always seasick. I get sick on cruuise ships but seabands help.

  4. Olga Says:

    Brave of you to keep venturing out to sea!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Wonderful photos , I am prone to seasickness also. Not a pleasant sensation. I visited the Mighty Mo. Inside I had the strangest reaction to the cleaning fluids they had used recently. I almost fainted and had to get out immediately.

  6. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Those youthful photos show such total joy! What a gorgeous smile!

  7. Bella Rose Says:

    The last time I was in a boat on the ocean, I ended up lying on the deck sick to my stomach. I have no desire to do that again. Being in a boat on a lake does not have the same effect, I guess because there are no waves.

Leave a Reply

