Lunch at the Hau Tree Lanai

I had lunch with friends at the Hau Tree Lanai in Waikiki on Saturday.  It rained earlier in the morning, but by the time I got to the restaurant, the weather was very pleasant.

The restaurant got its name from the Hau trees that grow on the beach.  Hence, the branches form a canopy over the tables (which is why I thought I would get wet if it rained).  Click on the photos to enlarge them:

Hau Tree Lanai 003-A

Hau Tree Lanai 013-A

These friends are former high school classmates of mine:

Hau Tree Lanai 004-A

This is my dear friend, Lynette, who said the photo taking was not complete unless she posed on the sand:

Hau Tree Lanai 014-A

This is what I ordered, a papaya-chicken salad with fresh fruits:

Hau Tree Lanai 008-A

We conversed about careers, travels, marriage, hobbies, and many other topics.  I had such a good time that when I glanced at my watch, I was surprised to see that three hours had gone by.  I brought home some of the fresh fruits from my plate, and David enjoyed them immensely.

Happy Mother’s Day!

9 Responses to “Lunch at the Hau Tree Lanai”

  1. Jan Says:

    Nice! Happy Mother’s Day to you, Gigi. 🙂

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    That plate looks so delicious there would have been nothing left. A happy mother’s day to you, too.

  3. Christine Says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Gigi! This looks like a perfect lunch with friends under those wonderful trees.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    What a lovely bunch of ladies. Glad you had fun, and stayed dry!

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Is that a clique of Chicks? Lovely day you for you and a brilliant way to celebrate your Mom’s Day. The fruit plate looks scrumptious. I love papaya.

  6. Olga Says:

    Such great fun to go out with other women…and long time friends, all the better!

  7. dkzody Says:

    That looks like an exquisite place for lunch. It wouldn’t even matter to me what was served if I could have it sitting under those tress and looking out at the ocean. And how wonderful to get together with long-time friends. You are very fortunate to have had such good high school friends and to have maintained contact.

  8. Kay G. Says:

    My word, that is a lovely restaurant. What a great place to meet your friends!

  9. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Looks like a lovely time. Exactly the kind of restaurant I would love to go to — I’d feel so pampered and special! And with good friends? The best!

Leave a Reply

