Reorganizing my kitchen

Recently, I microwaved food in a plastic bowl.  When I put a forkful of food in my mouth, I encountered bits of “eggshells” between my teeth.  I didn’t recall cracking an egg above my bowl.  What could it be?  I dumped the food into the trash can.

Well, David peered at the bowl and noticed that the surface was peeling.  He said it was because the bowl was not microwavable.  Wow!  I had been eating bits of the plastic bowl.  Ugh.

I decided to discard all of my non-microwavable bowls, because I didn’t want guests to make the same mistake I had made.

Kitchen cupboards 003-A

In their place, I bought Pyrex bowls that are microwavable as well as dishwasher safe.  Note the clear Pyrex bowls on the top shelf.  (Click on the photos to enlarge them.)

I also purchased a 4-piece place setting for 12 people (dinner plate, salad/dessert plate, soup bowl, and mug).  Everything matches as a set, and it’s meant for informal dining.  See the bottom shelf in the photo.

Meanwhile, I also reorganized another cupboard, containing my Mikasa fine china on the top shelf and cans of food on the bottom shelf.  The Mikasa fine china is meant for formal dining:

Kitchen cupboards 006-A

I feel more organized now.  Hopefully, there will be no more accidents, involving bits of plastic in my food.

13 Responses to “Reorganizing my kitchen”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    Goodness, that must have been unpleasant. Reminds me of the time we were invited to dinner by a couple we knew many years ago. The lady had used cream out of a glass bottle to make a dessert and the top had been chipped. We were picking shavings of glass out of our mouths. It was quite an experience. I like the look of your new dishes.

  2. Olga Says:

    How neat and organized your are!

  3. Cathy Says:

    Looking at your cupboards reminds me I have a bit of tidying up to do in the crockery dept. 🙂
    Not a good experience with the flaky plastic tho’
    Cathy

  4. Jan Says:

    I learned a while ago not to microwave plastic. Your new kitchen reorganization look perfect! 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    glad you got rid of those!

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I never microwaved plastic for fear of the fumes, but little bits, too. Yetch!

  7. dkzody Says:

    I have tupperware that is microwavable but usually I use glass containers to microwave or I just put the item on a paper towel.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    I have a collection of pyrex dishes in various sizes and shapes to use in both the oven and microwave.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Looking at your cupboards, I’m thinking I have too much stuff!

  10. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Smart move, Gigi. I do use plastic they say is microwaveable but always with some reservation. Convenient but I’m not sure how good it is for you! Lovely, tidy cupboards!

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Ha Ha! I have the same Pyrex bowls. Also bought some microwaveable bowls with covers. We eat lots of leftovers, so they work as storage bowls also. I’m nuts about pots, pans dishes. Its sinful to have so many. Have been giving them to my granddaughters.

  12. Tom Sightings Says:

    Good idea to get rid of the plastic. I don’t think there should be anything in the kitchen that can’t be put in the microwave or the dishwasher. It’s modern life, people!

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Great idea getting the Purex bowls, Gigi. A few years ago, we replaced plastuc food storage conrainers with some of the Pyrex glass storage containers. A perk is also tht you can microwave leftovers in them without any worries about plastic vhios. Wwe also replaced any of the coated cookware with stainless steel for similar reasons. Thanks for the tour of your dihware.

Leave a Reply

