A red Toyota Prius?

My daughter, Maria, and her family treated me and David to dinner on Tuesday at Paesano, an Italian restaurant in Pearl City.  The food was pretty good and we enjoyed it.

Mums for Mom:  Aren’t these yellow chrysanthemums pretty on my dining table?  Thank you, Maria, for the cheery flowers!

Mums for Mother's Day 001-A

I informed everyone that I plan to buy a new Toyota Prius next year, as my 2002 Hyundai Accent is old and feels like a tin can.  The Prius is a hybrid car and therefore environmentally friendly.

If the dealer has a 2015 model for sale, I might buy it.  Otherwise, I’ll get a 2016 model, hopefully in red.

Red?  Yes, red.  It’s my favorite color and it will be easy to spot in a crowded parking lot, since few people buy red cars.

If red is unavailable, I’ll settle for a cobalt blue.  Anything but white, which is so common.

Looking forward to 2016, when I turn 70 years young.

8 Responses to “A red Toyota Prius?”

  1. Cathy Says:

    What a lovely bright dining corner you have Gigi – just like you new car you are planning on buying. I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun in both of them lol
    Cathy

  2. Jan Says:

    I see a large number of red cars here in Bellingham, but not so much in other places. I look forward to seeing your pretty new (hopefully) red car! 🙂

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    The flowers are beautiful and how nice to be treated to a nice dinner. Your daughter and her husband are very thoughtful. A new car sounds great.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    My oldest son drives a Prius and he loves it. I have a 2005 Toyota Matrix and as it only has 20,000 miles it feels like new. David drives my old Toyota a 1989 Corolla Toyota station wagon we use like a truck.

    I don’t like Mums, I think they stink, but yellow is a great color. Your daughter is very thoughtful and kind to remember her old Mum and Dad.

  5. dkzody Says:

    A Prius is a good choice but I do recommend you test drive one before buying. We rented one in New Mexico a few years ago and was not impressed at all. Maybe they have improved. We could not see out the back window very well.

    As for red, I believe it is becoming the most popular of colors. There are lots of red cars on the roads here in California. I will often pull up at a light and notice a long line of red cars in one of the lanes.

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I drove to work, years ago, in my new red car. My boss saw it and said “Why do women always buy red cars?” I always wondered if he spoke from the depths of his experience.

  7. Christine Says:

    wow great to get a new car and red and blue sound nice. Hope you can get a good deal.

  8. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Belated Mother’s Day wishes, Gigi, and how nice of your daughter to treat you to dinner. It’s always exciting to plan a new purchase and why not a red car? My favorite color is purple and that’s not a common car color at all!

Leave a Reply

